Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Sony GBM20D11 Monitor Problem

    I've just bought a 2ndhand Sony(Silicon Graphics badged) GDM20D11 20" monitor and have discovered that it won't "sync" at 640x400 pixels and therefore when I boot up I can't see anything except rubbish until the drivers have been installed
    Then the monitor "syncs" OK at 800x600 pixels, (or higher), provided that I set the Vertical Refresh rate to at least 85Hz

    This monitor has the normal 15pin D shell connector, (not the SGI's Workstation 13W3 connector)

    I'm running WIN XP Pro with a Gigabtye GA-7N400 Pro2 motherboard which has a AGPx8 slot in which there is a WinFast A310TD G-Force FX-5600 video card set up with its Nvidia driver

    Is there any way that my monitor can be made to run at the 640x400 pixel level at Startup so I can see the normal bootup screen and also be able to read the CMOS Setup ?

    Is there any Hardware/Software modification I can make to the monitor to "sync" at 640x400 pixels, or Is there some other Video card which will fix this problem ?

    Hoping that someone out there knows of a solution to this problem

    Awaiting any help or suggestions

    Max Rieper
    mrieper@optusnet.com.au

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Sony GBM20D11 Monitor Problem

    Max

    I don't think I can help you here, because a friend of mine bought a new Samsung flat panel about a year ago, and had exactly the same problem. Consulting with their Technical Support, downloading new drivers, and so on made no difference. He just has to wait until the GUI part of Windows comes up. I think he keeps an old CRT monitor handy to plug in if he wants to change the PC BIOS settings. Pretty crummy, but there you are.

    Sorry! Hope someone else can give a better answer!
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sony GBM20D11 Monitor Problem

    My first Sony large monitor was a 19" bought 4 years ago. It didn't have the problems that you mention and simply magnified the 640x480 display to fill the screen. The graphics card was a 3D, but that may well not be relevant - as the monitor would display at 60MHz and didn't require special drivers. Like <!profile=JohnGray>JohnGray<!/profile>, I can only suggest that you get an OLD small monitor and a switch box to manage the boot process.
    Gre

  4. #4
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sony GBM20D11 Monitor Problem

    I sorry, but I know a lot of people that are running the new big screen monitors,CRT and TFT, with no such problem, including Sony, and they don't need two Monitors to do what they have always done with one. If you had purchased it new, I would say take it back because that is bull <img src=/w3timages/censored.gif alt=censored border=0>, but since you didn't I would try a different Video Card and see if that helps, if not, I'm afraid it's a problem within the monitor you will have to live with. But you are not supposed to have to use two monitors to do the job of one. The new monitors should and usually do run in 600x400.

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sony GBM20D11 Monitor Problem

    John

    Thanks for your thoughts

    I think that I'll have to keep my old monitor and plug it back in when I need to work on the CMOS @#$%^

    Cheers n Tears
    Max

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sony GBM20D11 Monitor Problem

    Thanks for your thoughts

    I think that I'll have to keep my old monitor and plug it back in when I need to work on the CMOS @#$%^

    Cheers n Tears
    Max

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sony GBM20D11 Monitor Problem

    This monitor isn't a new one
    It goes back to the mid 90's era

    Anyway thanks for your thoughts

    I think that I'll have to keep my old monitor and plug it back in when I need to work on the CMOS @#$%^

    Cheers n Tears
    Max

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sony GBM20D11 Monitor Problem

    Sorry that a better solution isn't available.

    A small point, please could you in future consider Rule 7?
    <hr> "If several people have contributed help in solving your problem, there is no need to post individual thank-you replies to each of them. Make one reply to the thread, thanking them all. If you edit the Subject line to read "Thanks folks" then people can skip it if they are in a hurry."<hr>
    It does help us keep better control of our bandwidth.

    Cheers
    Gre

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •