Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Popup/ActiveX (6.0.2800.1106 SP1,etc.)

    Something in InternetOptions|Security or Privacy, etc. got changed because I am now getting the attached 'popup'. This isn't an advertising-type popup at all. If I could find a link to where it shows which boxes should be checked in Security (Zones) and Privacy and Advanced,etc., that would be of great help to me.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    97
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Popup/ActiveX (6.0.2800.1106 SP1,etc.)

    See attached picture.
    If you find the prompt annoying you can enable ActiveX scripting and plug-ins; I keep this setting disabled (and thus don't get the popup message) because I usually don't lose anything of importance by not allowing each and every script or plug-in to run. On the other side, if you have sites where you want to allow scripting, add them to the Trusted Sites zones and adjust the custom settings correspondingly.

    Internet Options > Security > Trusted Sites > Sites
    Custom Level > Security Settings > Run ActiveX controls and plug-ins > enable
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Popup/ActiveX (6.0.2800.1106 SP1,etc.)

    So, in my Trusted Zone, it is marked Enable...the other 3 Zones, it is marked Prompt or Disable...which is better? Disable or Prompt???

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    97
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Popup/ActiveX (6.0.2800.1106 SP1,etc.)

    Disable. If you check Prompt you'll get the annoying popups asking "Do you want to allow etc.".

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Popup/ActiveX (6.0.2800.1106 SP1,etc.)

    <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15> thanks...I figured that out AFTER I did the reply...my brain and my fingers on keyboard aren't working together lately (had gallbladder removed on 01/14...and the meds are slowing me down <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15> ).
    Thank you for your help.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Popup/ActiveX (6.0.2800.1106 SP1,etc.)

    Personally, I use Prompt. I say no, then check the page's source code to see what it is. Almost always just a Flash animation, but occasionally something more unusual. On some sites, like Dilbert.com, the ActiveX is being pushed through the ads. That's REALLY annoying.

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Popup/ActiveX (6.0.2800.1106 SP1,etc.)

    Another vote for "prompt" - easiest way to run the stuff you trust and still keep control of activeX.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •