Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28
  1. #1
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Passwords do not match.

    I still (after a year or two) can't get the Lounge to recognise my new password.

    I've changed it to a memorable string, logged out, rebooted, deleted all cookies I can find anywhere, rebooted, connected, signed in using my password (it works), but when I go to change my signature, I get the old chestnut "Passwords do not match.".

    I logged in with my new password; that works, there is no doubt.

    It seems to me that the Lounge is NOT refurbishing its copy or whatever it stores on file.

    If anyone wants to "four-by-two" me again, I am:
    Win98
    Mozilla 1.0 (Help About displays "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Win98; en-US; rv:1.0.0) Gecko/20020530")


    This is NOT a complaint about different length strings, the second being encrypted and biggied with fries.

    Once I have changed my password, I expect the change to "take".

    I really don't know at whose end lies the problem.

    (signed) "frustrated" of Toronto, the home of Jupiter-the-idiot-cat

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Passwords do not match.

    <hr>...but when I go to change my signature, I get the old chestnut "Passwords do not match.". <hr>
    You did notice, didn't you, that when you open your profile to make a change, the SECOND password box has a different length string in it? You must enter your current password into THAT box and THEN change whatever you want to change. Be sure you click outside the box before you do any scrolling.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Passwords do not match.

    Have you tried it in IE?

    If it works there then it MAY be a "Mozilla" issue <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Passwords do not match.

    > current password into THAT box

    Oh! Thank You!! (yes, it appears to have worked).

    So, to change my password (every few months), I must type into BOTH boxes, but to change my profile, I must type the current password into the second box.

    Is that correct?

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Passwords do not match.

    > tried it in IE?

    Not this time around, but about six months ago I was essaying in Mozilla, netscpae AND IE to try to fathom what was going on. All that i achieved was to squirrel cookies in three different places on the hard drive.....

    Good suggestion, though, and I usually do try to eliminate "me" as the primary cause.

    I must say that the Lounge is the ONLY place I've had trouble changing passwords. It may be the most secure, but it isn't intuitive to people like me.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Passwords do not match.

    "I must type the current password into the second box." <big> <big>no</big> </big>

    First box NEW password
    Second (Verify) box NEW password again <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>

    See BigAl's attachment

    See <!help=10>Help 10<!/help> for MORE instructions

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Passwords do not match.

    > "I must type the current password into the second box." no

    Let me try this again.

    An hour ago I went back to controls, typed my most recent password in Box2, changed my signature, and everything worked fine.

    It seems to me that I only need type in Both Boxes when I am changing my password, at which time, both password boxes should match.


    Apart from my changing my passords, if all I want to do is change part of my controls (in my case my signature, or to get rid of Ghooli tank), I only need key my current password in Box2. I seem to have been having problems changing controls when I don't type a password in Box2. I'd been assuming that since the lounge had asterisked both boxes, that it had retained (as had my cookies) my password. I understood the different length to be a clever quirk of the lounge.


    Here's another slant: When I click on the "WOW" button on my browser toolbar, I am taken to the lounge which, with the aid of my cookies, logs me in. Instantly I'm a logged-in member. I figured that since I was obviously logged in as me, I could change my controls. Not so. Even 'though I'm logged in, I have to retype my current password in Box 2 in order to effect a change in my controls, any change at all, excepting that of changing my password, for which I must use Box1 as well as Box2.

    Perhaps it has been the business of having to type my password when I'm already logged in that has confused me.

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Passwords do not match.

    Yeah, I think you've got it, Chris. Fact is, to be pure about it, you need to enter your password in the password AND the verify box both as Dave said. However, knowing that the password box already contains the correct entry, you can go right to the verify box. Just remember to click OUTSIDE the box after you type something. If you hit the page down key for example, what you typed will not be retained.

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Passwords do not match.

    <hr>Have you tried it in IE?

    If it works there then it MAY be a "Mozilla" issue <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>.<hr>
    No... no ... no.... it'll be a coding issue. Mozilla can't be the problem... Mozilla follows documented standards. IE likes 'broken' code <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>.
    Christopher Baldrey

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Passwords do not match.

    The ONLY time I have ever had to type in a password in the Verify box was when I change my password. Any other changes do NOT require me to enter a password.

    When opening the Profile page , the password boxes have dots in them, do NOT make any changes to these two boxes unless you want to change the password. Just scroll down to the area(s) that you want to change and do it. Then select the "Submit" button at the bottom.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Passwords do not match.

    Sorry, Dave - look at the screenshot in my post above! (the 2nd post in this thread) See the different number of ASTERISKS in the verify box? I didn't make that up - it happens that way EVERY time I open my profile. I asked about it a long time ago but I'm too lazy to go looking for the thread. Besides which, I think Chris is OK now.

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Passwords do not match.

    I'm doing this so it's clear that Dave and I aren't "arguing" about this. For whatever the reasons, we DO have a coding difference here - one of many among browser implementations. You know and I know that regardless of which is best, we LIVE with it and go on. This attachment shows what the password boxes look like in your profile, whether in a Mozilla based browser or Internet Explorer 6. Maybe some future Lounger "searching" on passwords will get a wee bit of guidance from this.

    Dave is right. In IE you can make a profile change and hit Submit without touching the password boxes. I did so and for what it's worth, the number of asterisks is INTENTIONALLY not the number of characters in my password. As I said earlier, with Mozilla you MUST make the password and verify boxes match or your profile changes will not be accepted.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  13. #13
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Passwords do not match.

    > Any other changes do NOT require me to enter a password.

    All changes I have ever wanted to make - passwords change (both boxes, naturally, it's what I'd expect of any system), image of me (Ghooli Tank), Signature, and any other features of Controls on the little-person-profile-page - have required me to re-enter the second pasword. It's a pain. Until this thread I thought it was me, and felt that i hade to dream up a new password for both boxes, or dig out the old "NajSvVtX6" (tm) password from my files.

    It's a pain in part because I am the sole owner/operator of this computer system in the home/office, and security of my image (ahem!) at Woody's Lounge is not a vital concern.

    I almost resent having to retype my password just to change my image.

    So, my total setup (computer, cache, browser, setup on Woody's Lounge) is in some way different from yours.

    I haven't been able to get away from re-typing my password all these two years.

    As a result of this thread, I am now at the point where I need only type my current password in the second box, that's a small improvement. Small, because that means I can no longer use the "tVCJCB6w3" convention - too much trouble to open my passwords file - but have to resort to easily-remembered names like "geoffw" or "hans", hardly as secure as "hvDZqv7WF".

    It seems to me that I ought not to have to type my password each time I make a change, unless I want to change the passwords (when it does make sense).

    Of all the web sites I visit, Woody's Lounge is the only one that seems to be so annoyingly sticky.

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Passwords do not match.

    Then use Internet Explorer, if no other time than when you know you want to make a change to your profile.

  15. #15
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Passwords do not match.

    > use Internet Explorer, if no other time

    Yes, this is a solution, but is a solution to a problem that seems to be unique to Woody's lounge.

    In these trying times, when so much time and effort is being put into re-juvenating SEARCH and such like, I'm hesitant to trumpet that the Lounge has a problem. It is a minor annoyance, but we have had a few threads on this, and despite assurances from those who don't have the problem, it all points to a unique situation with the lounge, rather than with browsers. Some of the responses in this thread suggest that it is not related to me alone, is not related to the Browser, and so on.

    For now I'll use the "type password in second box" technique for changes. It sure beats my old procedure of changing my password every time I wanted to make a minor change to Controls.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •