Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Can Win 2000 Pro run on P2 400M?

    I originally posted this on the Win XP site, but it's now a Win 2000 issue as XP isn't suitable.

    I need to reformat my hard drive and reinstall my OS (shudder - the very thought fills me with abject horror).

    Will Windows 2000 Pro run adequately (ie not crawl along) on a P2 400 Mhz Gateway with 128 Mb RAM? Or should I go back to Win 98, the current (broken) OS?

    Thanks for your comments.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Can Win 2000 Pro run on P2 400M?

    Ted, You need more memory. Get at least 256MB more. The rest depends on what you'll be running and what your definition of adequate is. I'd definitely try Win2k before putting 98 back on the machine.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can Win 2000 Pro run on P2 400M?

    My wifes is a Pent 111 450MHZ and Win2000 runs pretty good on it. Not sure about the Pent 11 400MHZ.

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can Win 2000 Pro run on P2 400M?

    Thanks, Joe and Cowboy. I think I'll give 2000 a go and see how it goes. If it doesn't reduce me to a quivering mass of slime then I'll make another post to warn/advise others who consider a similar perilous path!

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can Win 2000 Pro run on P2 400M?

    I use a Dell P2 233MHz with 384 Megs of RAM, a fairly new hard drive, and Win 2000 and it works very well with Office 97. I also use a new Dell with Office XP (and Win XP pro) and in my opinion the performance of Word and Excel is not very different between the two machines (for 95 percent of the time at least). A P2 400 MHz machine running Win 2000 should perform MUCH better (faster and much more stable) than with Win 98.

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can Win 2000 Pro run on P2 400M?

    You may need to be a little bit careful as to how many apps you are running, but I have run Win2K on a P133 with 80Mb. Frankly, the peace of mind outweighed any possible slowness compared to Win98.
    Gre

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can Win 2000 Pro run on P2 400M?

    I have a Celeron 400Mhz running XP Pro and Office XP Pro at home with 512MB - works fine except with Adobe photoshop which is a result of only 4MB of video ram. I used to have 2K on with 128MB but somehow 2K and a Celeron had too many altercations, but when it worked it was fast.

    In my professional life (IT Manager) we run a fleet of approx 200 PII 400 with 128MB running 2KSP3 and Office 2K standard. Because we use a mix of Novell and Microsoft the PC also has the Novell client on it. With the anti virus and other company apps you would expect it to be slow, but we have found it to be more reliable and faster than the NT/Win 95 versions we had previously.
    Good Luck

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can Win 2000 Pro run on P2 400M?

    Yes, Windows2000 will run on a PII, 400MHZ, but you will definitely need more than 128MB RAM. My equipment: Gateway 2500 Solo laptop; PII 400MHZ, 224 MB RAM, NeoMagic Video, 6GB HD, I run Office2000 Premium and Norton SystemWorks 2002 (NAV 2004 Professional). It is not a speed demon, but it will run adquately with 7-12 programs running (again, not a demon, but adequate). I agree with the other posts on Windows2000 rather than '98. It is rock solid and rarely crashes or freezes. It originally had 128MB RAM and I upgraded to 224 (old computer, and did not want to buy two 128MB RAM modules). I did notice a fair increase in performance. It craaaaawwwwlled on 128! Hope this helps, good luck!

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can Win 2000 Pro run on P2 400M?

    Thanks all for your great comments. I did the dead, formatted etc and, as you say, it is very much more reliable that W98.

    Further, the performance is not too bad. Runs fine, and not too slow to boot up. All in all, is going well.

    Thanks again.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •