Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Gillingham, Kent, England
    Posts
    511
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Windows Taskmanager Accuracy

    I have used PCs for many years, but never looked into system usage. Due to some software we set up for a client, I now need to.
    They checked the task manager CPU and memory usage and asked us to look into their findings as they were not happy with the result.

    On a twin 2.4ghz processor, 4GB Ram machine (I think win 2K server is on it but im not 100% sure), running terminal server with 7 users using a 30mb database,
    each users database took 50mb memory and the processor was always at 100%.

    I started with a few preliminary tests and noticed that a database using forms or reports takes up its approximate size in memory, then increases slightly when more forms etc are opened, so can I assume this is normal?
    If so, does that make Access databases very unsuitable for terminal servers or would the PC manage the resources ok?

    I had a look at the CPU usage as well. When doing ANYTHING on an Access form, there is 100% usage even on a regular PC (not Terminal server), so with 7 users there's a chance someone will always be doing something. Would it be fair to say that this is an incorrect view of system resources?

    Can anyone suggest a good way to prove to our client that it is not specifically our database that makes the pretty graphs show 100% usage all of the time?

    Any help would be much appreciated.

    Regards,

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Windows Taskmanager Accuracy

    > Can anyone suggest a good way to prove to our client that it is not specifically our database that makes
    > the pretty graphs show 100% usage all of the time?

    Try a search... someone posted an extremely similar question recently.

    I think if you do a demo with the MS-provided sample database (Northwind?) and get the same results, that should pretty much prove the point.

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows Taskmanager Accuracy

    Phil

    It may be a stupid suggestion, but what do you see about percentage CPU usage in Task Manager => Processes? This breaks down the total CPU usage as seen in the Performance screen.

    But you probably have done this already, so apologies...

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Gillingham, Kent, England
    Posts
    511
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Taskmanager Accuracy

    Sorry jscher2000, I didn't realise that the search facility was back up and running, i've not been on the lounge for a couple of months.

    Thanks for your reply John, however, I was informed of MS article 160819 which tells me all about how, when Access 97 is idle, it keeps the CPU indicator at 100% which made sure Access didnt start processing any background tasks during periods of inactivity.

    That was the last thing I expected it to be, but I suppose that's what comes from using an old product!

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows Taskmanager Accuracy

    Phil

    I know nothing about Access, except that we have an Access database system used for setting up our Logon Scripts. I had noticed that "some of the time" it was using 100% CPU, but not always. I put the matter to the developers, and they didn't know why this happened. We haven't gone past Access 97 (mostly), so I can't say whether it still applies in newer, and even more wonderful, versions.

    I'd presumed you'd been in Processes already, but part of my job is not to make assumptions!
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •