Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: Splash Screen

  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    274
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts

    Splash Screen

    When accessing the Lounge, a splash screen briefly displays, offering definitions of a number of internet terms. Because it goes so fast, I haven't normally given it much attention.

    However, by chance today I glanced at it and noticed that the text in the splash box below the button panel/above the title "WOPR LOUNGE" appears as squares and other shapes. Is there supposed to be text there? What am I missing?

    Chris

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    885
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Splash Screen

    Hi Chris, As a matter of interest, I don't get a flash screen when logging in to the Lounge.
    Granville

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Splash Screen

    I think you have some kind of browser add-in/add-on that's popping up that window. Do you recall installing anything like that?

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Splash Screen

    I don't get any splash screen either. Does it stay on the screen (in focus) long enough for you to hit the Alt-PrtScr button so you can make a screenshot? If you do, you might need to crop it some so you don't post something too big.

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    274
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts

    Re: Splash Screen

    Thanks for all the responses. Odd!

    I'm attaching thesplash screen I see.

    BTW, the URL I use is <http://www.wopr.com/lounge>

    Chris
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newark, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    999
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Splash Screen

    Thats is supposed to be a date. Thank you for pointing it out. I'm looking into it now.
    Mike Wolfman
    Jack of all, Master of none
    Bow before me, for I am root.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tfiles/112673-wolfsig.jpg>

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Splash Screen

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by bigaldoc on 23-Jan-04 06:57. Oops, the system guru beat me to the punch. So, the number I'm getting on mine should be a date also, huh Mike?)</P>Let's wait, if you don't mind, until one of The Lounge Admins can take a look at your screenshot. Since your profile says you're in Jakarta, I think it's something of a language problem, but I have no idea why. I don't access The Lounge that way, so I'm glad you told us that URL. When I do it, there's a number up there where you get the jibberish. I hesitate to say what it is, just in case there might be a security/privacy problem in quoting the number.

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Queanbeyan, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    3,730
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Splash Screen

    If you use the url http://www.wopr.com/cgi-bin/w3t/wwwthreads.pl it takes you straight in without the splash screen.
    Subway Belconnen- home of the Signboard to make you smile. Get (almost) daily updates- follow SubwayBelconnen on Twitter.

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Splash Screen

    Ah yes.. but http://www.wopr.com/lounge is so much easier to remember, when you've deleted your bookmark file, or in my case, neglected to perform a simple backup of said bookmark file BEFORE rebuilding a PC.
    Christopher Baldrey

  10. #10
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Queanbeyan, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    3,730
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Splash Screen

    Yes, that is what I use on a strange PC.

    But when I've visited the site once, I just type in "wopr" in the address bar, when the "autocomplete" list pops up, and use the "up" arrow to select the address with "pl" a few spots up from the bottom of the list
    Subway Belconnen- home of the Signboard to make you smile. Get (almost) daily updates- follow SubwayBelconnen on Twitter.

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Splash Screen

    Since you guys have used this entry point or continue to do so, do you get this screen, which Mike has said is supposed to be a date? I've only entered this way a couple of times since the original post and that indicated number was different both times, but I can't decipher it. I figured to just wait till Mike has time to have a look.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Splash Screen

    On one computer I use, that's what I'm seeing (recently).

    On a different computer, I get a bunch of strange characters, as Chris mentioned in his opening post.
    Christopher Baldrey

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Splash Screen

    Just to put in my two cents.
    I get the junk characters there also.
    ---------------------------------------------
    Xc*
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  14. #14
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Splash Screen

    This is interesting, and I appreciate the interesting filter of boxes but if you just get to the lounge threads and left click drag the small "e" icon as a shortcut to your desktop or quick launch, you're going to go straight to the Lounge threads (no preliminary green interface from WOPR that's going to say "This Way to Lounge" at least that's what it says for me in the U.S.) and you don't have to remember anything. If you type "woody's lounge" in your address bar you're going to default to your browser's default search engine and then you can click on that longer url's link to go straight to the lounge. You can also of course Google for Woody's Lounge or use any search engine including the one your browser defaults to and left click from the link and you'll have a shortcut to the Lounge on your desktop/quickstart.

    SMBP
    Attached Images Attached Images

  15. #15
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Splash Screen

    <hr>If you type "woody's lounge" in your address bar you're going to default to your browser's default search engine and then you can click on that longer url's link to go straight to the lounge<hr>
    Better get your facts straight first SMBP. I haven't changed my installation AT ALL, for my default browser, and it does not take me to the default search engine when I type in 'Woody's Lounge'. In fact, it gives me an error simply stating the URL is invalid.

    Also, simply dragging the icon to my desktop isn't an option for everyone. At work for instance, the desktop (and quick launch bar) are locked from being changed by anyone other than a system administrator.
    Christopher Baldrey

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •