Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Royse City, Texas, USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Updates Loop 'Insert Original Office Disk' (2002 - XP)

    I install Office XP and Activate it. Then I apply SP1 from a downloaded file.
    SP1 update tells me to "Insert Origianl Office XP Disk".
    I do, but it asks again and again.

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Updates Loop 'Insert Original Office Disk' (2002 - XP)

    Does it say that it can't find a particular file on the CD? In previous versions of Office, you sometimes had to copy the whole CD to the hard drive and/or rename a file to get it to work. I don't remember hearing that this happens with Office XP, but the same "solution" might work.

  4. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Updates Loop 'Insert Original Office Disk' (2002 - XP)

    Are you using the correct CD?

    I have found that if you are running any of the other programs that may be a part of a different Office suite you will need to try them also. If you have added Publisher or even Access or PowerPoint which may not have come with your copy of Office.

    I have also found that if you have Word from Works and upgrade to Office, the service patch is looking for the Word CD.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Updates Loop 'Insert Original Office Disk' (2002 - XP)

    Copy the entire CD into a separate folder on your hard drive. When prompted, point it to this location. You can keep it to use with SP2 upgrade and security patches, or you can delete it after upgrade.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •