Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Force a subreport page break (Access 2002/Win XP)

    I know I've done this, but I can't find a sample! I need to check in the detail section of a report to see where the top of a subreport is positioned on the page when it's printing in order to avoid having the first detail line of the subreport repeated on the next page. This only occurs when other data in Detail pushes the subreport down low enough on the page so that the first line of its detail section is the last line on the page. It seems to me someone posted a solution for breaking subreports across pages, but I've lost the reference as well as my mind.
    <img src=/S/hairout.gif border=0 alt=hairout width=31 height=23>
    Charlotte

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,624
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Force a subreport page break (Access 2002/Win XP)

    Hopefully you've solved your problem by now, but just in case, does <!mskb=292050>Microsoft Knowledge Base Article 292050<!/mskb> (ACC2002: Keeping Subreport or Text Box Data Together on a Page) help?
    Wendell

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Force a subreport page break (Access 2002/Win XP)

    Thanks, Wendell. That was my first thought as well, but it isn't that simple, unfortunately. We have a mixture of other controls and subreports in a report and there is no way to tell specifically where we need to force a new page because everything can grow.
    Charlotte

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,624
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Force a subreport page break (Access 2002/Win XP)

    Ouch - that's a challenge. And there is the problem with setting the Keep Together and having a record fill up the entire page. I'm afraid I don't have any ideas other than an extreme one - use Automation to create your report in Word. It will handle the orphan/widow lines problem pretty well.
    Wendell

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Force a subreport page break (Access 2002/Win XP)

    Unfortunately, this is a runtime application and we can't count on Word being available, nor on the version if it's there. The problem shows up in both print and preview and hits us in individual fields and subreports. The very top of the line is printed at the bottom of one page and the entire line is repeated at the top of the next. We've played with top and bottom margins, and that just moves the problem around but doesn't cure it. Since some of the textboxes can grow and others can't, we can't even use the Top value of the control to determine whether it will print on the page. <img src=/S/hairout.gif border=0 alt=hairout width=31 height=23>
    Charlotte

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •