Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Welcome form

  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    118
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Welcome form

    Hi,

    I have created a main form and on it are command buttons that link to other forms.
    How do I setup the main form so that every time I open the database the main form is open? Like a welcome page/entry page.

    Thanks

    Kerrie

  2. #2
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    159
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Welcome form

    You can create a macro that opens the form and maximizes it( if you need to ). Then, name the macro AutoExec. Then, when you open the db it will automatically run the macro.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
    Posts
    1,862
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Welcome form

    Sherri's suggestion is great for some things. However, an easier method of having a form open at startup can be found under the menu: Tools | Startup...
    Select the desired form from the list (at the top right) and it will always startup when you launch that particular database. You can hold down the Shift key while starting the database to bypass the startup form (as well as any other startup options that have been selected) - as long as you haven't un-checked the "Use Special Access Keys" option (in the "Advanced>>>" section).

    HTH

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    118
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Welcome form

    Hi Mark,

    How do you setup the main form to maximise on opening?
    When I put it in the startup it opens but only to 34 size.

    Thanks kindly,

    Kerrie

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Posts
    233
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 22 Times in 21 Posts

    Re: Welcome form

    Kerrie,
    are you familiar with VBA?

    If you put the statement DoCmd.Maximize in the Form's open event handler, the form will maximize each time it is opened.

    Jeremy

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
    Posts
    1,862
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Welcome form

    Kerrie,
    Jeremy offered a wonderful suggestion, however in the case that you're not familiar with VBA you could create a macro to do this for you. You can do this in several easy steps:
    1) Create a new macro. Under the Action column, select "Maximize". Save the macro with a useful name (like "MaximizeMacro" or something).
    2) In the design view of the form, select the Form Properties (Edit | Select Form, then click the Properties button on the toolbar). Under the Event tab on the Properties sheet, choose the name of the newly created macro for the On Open event. Save your work. All set!

    HTH <img src=/S/thumbup.gif border=0 alt=thumbup width=15 height=15>

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    118
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Welcome form

    Yippee! Fixed my problem, thanks.

    Tried both Autoexec and maximise macro's.

    Kerrie

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •