Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Pontiac, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    170
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Reports - Paradox (Access 2002)

    I have migrated all my Paradox dbs to Access. However, Paradox has one report feature I cannot seem to find in Access. The feature is: Multi-Record Layout. It allows you to make a box to hold multiple child records for the parent. In my case I have multiple codes of 4-6 characters for each parent. Up to 20 children per parent. The multi-record layout would allow a box of 4 by 5 cells (or any other number) which you can place anywhere in the report. Thus you are not using 20 physical lines where each one has a few characters. Very efficient use of paper. Does Access have something similar?

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Sint Niklaas, Belgium
    Posts
    2,778
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Reports - Paradox (Access 2002)

    I never try it but I think you could use a subreport. That subreport should be a label report with columns layout set to across then down.
    HTH
    Francois

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Reports - Paradox (Access 2002)

    There are other ways to do it using grouping in the report, but a subreport, as Francois suggested, is probably the simplest way. Make the subreport as wide as the report page and set it up in columns, with the subreport control's can grow/can shrink properties set to Yes. You can set the columns to display the related child records across then down, which will fill each row with as many columns as you have set up and then move on to the next row.
    Charlotte

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Pontiac, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    170
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Reports - Paradox (Access 2002)

    Charlotte, this did work but I seem to have a glitch. When the parent has 3 child records in this subreport, I get ALL the info 3 times, etc. <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29> I'm still so new to Access that I'm not sure what I should do to have just 1 set of child records display. Any thoughts? And thank you for the help. It is greatly appreciated.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Reports - Paradox (Access 2002)

    This probably means that the child info is included in the record source of the parent report. The record source of the main (parent) report should only contain parent data.

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Pontiac, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    170
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Reports - Paradox (Access 2002)

    Hans, I'm sure you're right but I can't figure out where the duplication is originating. Child data comes from a table that includes customer number and code only. Link from subreport to main report is on customer number. Customer number is not included in subreport data. I can't see how this would create duplicate entries. What is interesting is that the whole list is replicated by the number of child records. So if there are 5, I get 5 lines each including all 5 child records. Weird. Any thoughts? Again, thanks to everyone for the help. It is appreciated and obviously needed!

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Sint Niklaas, Belgium
    Posts
    2,778
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Reports - Paradox (Access 2002)

    You can always attach a stripped and zipped version of the database (max 100k) and we'll have a look at your queries to identify the problem.
    Francois

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Reports - Paradox (Access 2002)

    Problems like this with reports are almost universally caused by data. How many records are being returned in the main report for each customer? Where did you put the subreport? If there are multiple detail records for each customer and you put the subreport in the detail section, it will cause the kind of thing you're reporting. If you set up a grouping by Customer in the main report and put the subreport in the group footer, you should get only one subreport per customer number. However, customer number has to be a field in the subreport recordsource, or there is no way to create the links. I don't see how you could NOT include it and link the subreport to the parent on that value. <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>
    Charlotte

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Pontiac, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    170
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Reports - Paradox (Access 2002)

    HansV, Charlotte and Francois, I finally got wise and started the whole report from scratch. All new queries, subreports. And your suggestions must have sunk in because, VOILA!!, it worked. No more repeated subreports. Now to get rid of the extra white space..... <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15>

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Reports - Paradox (Access 2002)

    >> Now to get rid of the extra white space...

    In the design of the main report:
    1. Make sure that the subreport control on the main report has its Can Shrink and Can Grow properties set to Yes, and the same for the section of the main report that contains the subreport.
    2. Make sure that there is no superfluous white space below the subreport control.

    In the design of the subreport:
    3. You probably don't want a report header and footer for this subreport.
    4. Make sure that there is no superfluous white space below the last control in the detail section.

  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Pontiac, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    170
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Reports - Paradox (Access 2002)

    WOW! That was fast. Thank you! I find it very difficult to "see" where white space can occur with all the slider bars around my subreports. When tackling Paradox, the report screen seems "cleaner" to me. I'll re-do the report and put in one subreport at a time looking for the nasty white space and eliminating it as I go along. I had done some of your suggestions, HansV, but I'll make sure I do them all.

    Thank you again. The LoungeLizards are the greatest!

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Reports - Paradox (Access 2002)

    Try opening the subreports independently, without the main report open. Then you can maximize the screen and see exactly what you have in the subreport. and eliminate any unnecessary white space The view of the subreport on the parent can be helpful, but it is mostly useful for seeing subreport headers and positioning rather than for actually seeing the controls and layout of the subreport.
    Charlotte

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Reports - Paradox (Access 2002)

    I'm confused by your mentioning several subreports. The suggestion by Francois was to create one subreport as wide as the report page, with 5 columns. But you may need subreports for other purposes. In that case, make sure that they don't overlap. The Can Shrink property of a control has no effect if it overlaps another control.

  14. #14
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Pontiac, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    170
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Reports - Paradox (Access 2002)

    Hans, my "label" subreport now works perfectly thanks to all the suggestions. I have 3 subreports in my main report. And all 3 do what they are supposed to do (I'm totally amazed!). I think my white space problem may be due to Access not deleting the space needed by any of the subreports when there is no data for that subreport (or maybe it is a field). Where else can I look to make sure that if a field/subreport has no data that it's space is deleted?

    Again, thank you for being so patient with a newbie!

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Reports - Paradox (Access 2002)

    Have you checked in both the main report and each of the subreports that the relevant sections have Can Shrink set to True, and that this also holds for each of the subreports as controls on the main report?

    One more thing: do the subreports (as controls) have labels attached to them? If so, delete the labels.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •