Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Slash-0 (MSO 2000)

    (Edited by HansV to make URL clickable - see <!help=19>Help 19<!/help>)

    In <!mskb=211315>Microsoft Knowledge Base Article 211315<!/mskb>, they talk about creating a "slash-over-zero"... great idea since, as noted, "0" and "O" often get mixed up.

    But I couldn't get the macro to work, in Outlook or Word.

    The macro as stipulated is as follows:

    Sub SlashZero()
    '
    ' SlashZero Macro
    '
    ' Add the Slash Zero EQ field to the document.
    >Selection.Fields.Add Range:=Selection.Range, Type:=wdFieldEmpty, _
    Text:="EQ o (0,/)", PreserveFormatting:=False
    '
    ' Remove the extra space that is inserted in the field.
    ActiveWindow.View.ShowFieldCodes = Not ActiveWindow.View.ShowFieldCodes
    Selection.MoveLeft Unit:=wdCharacter, Count:=2
    Selection.Delete Unit:=wdCharacter, Count:=1
    '
    ' Move insertion point to the right of the field.
    ActiveWindow.View.ShowFieldCodes = Not ActiveWindow.View.ShowFieldCodes
    Selection.MoveRight Unit:=wdCharacter, Count:=1
    '
    End Sub

    ...

    Trouble is on the line(s)

    Selection.Fields.Add Range:=Selection.Range, Type:=wdFieldEmpty, _
    Text:="EQ o (0,/)", PreserveFormatting:=False

    you get the following error:

    Error:

    Runtime error 424... Object required.

    What is wrong here, and how might I fix it?

    TIA,

    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Slash-0 (MSO 2000)

    Where did you put this macro? Since it is a Word macro, it should be in a standard module in a Word template, preferably Normal.dot or a global template, so that it will be available in all documents, and also in Outlook (if you use Word as mail editor <img src=/S/yikes.gif border=0 alt=yikes width=15 height=15>.) You should *not* put the macro in an Outlook module.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    5,055
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 417 Times in 346 Posts

    Re: Slash-0 (MSO 2000)

    You could try using char 216 (type Alt-0216) =
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Slash-0 (MSO 2000)

    Hi Macropod

    Whereyabeen? There's also char(248) as a possibility. They all look a little different, but would the high ascii characters be a possible source of confusion in foreign language documents - Greek, Cyrillic for instance?

    Alan

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    5,055
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 417 Times in 346 Posts

    Re: Slash-0 (MSO 2000)

    Hi Alan,

    Took a month off over Dec/Jan, and have been flat out at work ever since (payback, I s'pose).

    As for foreign language documents, I tried it with Arabic Sihafa, Hebrew and Cyrillic fonts, and they all came out different, so Alt-0216 =
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •