New Lounger
    Thanks

Using customised settings (Normal.dot) in Word XP (migrating Word97-XP)

Hi - I'm new to the Lounge so please be patient if I don't get this right first time.

I am a long term user of Office97 (with Win98). My company is soon switching to WinXP and Office XP. I regularly customise my toolbars and menus to add facilities I use constantly and also to add files to customised toolbars and menus to give instant access to files I use several times a day for instance templates, list of phone numbers.

I have been told that my Normal.dot, which of course is where these settings are stored will not transport to Word XP. I

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Using customised settings (Normal.dot) in Word XP (migrating Word97-XP

Hi Mary,

Welcome to Woody's Lounge!

It is not advisable to use your Word 97 version of Normal.dot as default template in Word 2002, but you should be able to transfer various settings. To avoid confusion, you might want to rename it to Normal97.dot or something like that. Open it in Word 2002 by right-clicking it in Windows Explorer and selecting Open from the context menu, or by opening it from withing Word itself. (If you double click a template in Windows Explorer, the default action is to create a new document based on the template.)

You can copy custom toolbars to your new Normal.dot (the 2002 version) using the Organizer (open it from Tools | Templates and Add-ins...) With the Organizer, you can copy styles, AutoText entries, toolbars and macros from one template/document to another.

Note: Office XP applications, including Word 2002, by default show only part of the menus; each menu has an arrow at the bottom to display it fully. If you find this irritating (as I do), select Tools | Customize..., activate the Options tab and tick the "Always show full menus" box.

You may well have more questions about the switch from Office 97 to Office XP. Feel free to post them in the appropriate forum here.

New Lounger
    Thanks