Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23
  1. #1
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WinXP/Hardware Failure (Mozilla 1.5)

    No problems with Mozilla Firebird 0.7 running WinXP. HTH
    Gre

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: WinXP/Hardware Failure (Mozilla 1.5)

    Thanks. Well, that confirms about three things. First, since I uninstalled those two scanner-printer programs and have re-booted at least twice, it wasn't them. Second, since I finally broke down and am typing now from Firebird .7, it isn't browser specific because I still don't get any results. Therefore, it HAS to be something honked up either with hardware (scanner?) or something in my OS has gotten corrupt. I just can't fathom how something could be wrong in WinXP that's impacting only two web sites (that I'm AWARE of)!

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WinXP/Hardware Failure (Mozilla 1.5)

    Presumably, you've already tried AdAware and SpyBot - just in case. Hope you don't end up having to do a Repair Install: just think of all those patches! <img src=/S/groan.gif border=0 alt=groan width=16 height=15>
    Gre

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: WinXP/Hardware Failure (Mozilla 1.5)

    Yes, I did both and a virus scan. I will probably restore from my last image backup before I would do a re-install. But I sure hate puzzles like this. It just HAS to be something "simple" if only one could find it. BTW, I just un-installed the scanner and its software to see if that could be the culprit. Maybe I'll never know 'cause that didn't fix it either. If only I had a log of some kind of what else I've done on the machine in the past week or so..... The ESPN site is someplace I hardly go, but my son was the one who discovered this anomoly about two days ago.

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WinXP/Hardware Failure (Mozilla 1.5)

    >If only I had a log of some kind of what else I've done on the machine in the past week or so
    There's a thought! If you tinker that much, it's probably a sound investment of your time.
    Gre

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Site Browse Failure (Mozilla 1.5)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by bigaldoc on 05-Feb-04 10:50. I'm going to MOVE this thread from Other Browsers to Windows XP since unkamunka and I seem to have confirmed it's NOT a browser issue.)</P>I put this here because the "problem" surfaced in Mozilla (my normal browser) but is also happening in IE6 - both of which are on this WinXP Pro machine. I have another machine running WinME and IE 5.5 on which the problem does NOT happen, so I'm pretty sure the links are good. My conclusion is that something has happened on this machine to cause this problem.

    When I attempt to visit either of the following links, I get an hourglass which never goes away, not even a "not found" message or anything of any sort. When I look at the ZoneAlarm activity icon in the tray, there's no activity, period, as there normally is when there's input or output with the 'Net. This happened sometime in the past week. The links are to the ESPN sports web site and their "parent" company, the ABC Television network. I figured it was a fluke in their web system until I tried both on the WinME machine and they both work.

    http://msn.espn.go.com/
    http://www.abc.com/

    I ran SpyBot and AdAware with clean results and I have PC-Cillin doing an overnight virus scan every night, also without a problem. As near as I can reconstruct, the only software I've installed recently has been something called iCarbon and Simple Copier which are both scanner-to-printer programs, and an update for my UMAX Astra 2200 scanner. All of this was discussed <!post=in this thread.,337257>in this thread.<!/post> Can anyone fathom a reason why I would not be able to access either of those sites? BTW, I have no popup blocker software running and I have emptied the cache and cleared all cookies for both browsers, without success.

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: WinXP/Hardware Failure (Mozilla 1.5)

    Well, I must admit to being pretty @#$!% right about now! This morning I did a <big>sfc /scannow</big> and after 35 or 40 minutes of "something" I'm still no wiser. I have no idea what it did during all that time and the Event Viewer doesn't help me out at all. The only thing it says is two entries - that it started and completed. No details as to what files, if any, it may have restored. It must've done SOMETHING, with all those searches for the XP CD and the <img src=/w3timages/censored.gif alt=censored border=0> number of times I had to click or press to get it to continue. What a drag!

    This afternoon I DID do a repair install and apparently WASTED another 45 minutes to an hour, since the problem has not gone away! This is an absolute pig and the worst feeling I've had about Win XP for two years! As I said earlier, I guess I'll have to restore from my last backup image, but after all this crap, I'm not too enthusiastic about that prospect. Sorry to unload, I just needed to vent on this one!

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WinXP/Hardware Failure (Mozilla 1.5)

    Presumably, you looked at going back to a previous restore point a while back - just as an additional measure?
    Gre

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: WinXP/Hardware Failure (Mozilla 1.5)

    No, I don't use System Restore since I rely on my frequent backup IMAGES of each drive when I need them. I guess I'm just being pig headed about this, since I expected the built-ins to at least tell me what's wrong with the installation. The problem is so "minor" as to be annoying but not a major catastrophe, like a complete crash would be. I'm (sort of) convinced that it had to have happened when I tried to install this scanner, that's why I was hoping that system file checker or a repair would find the problem and fix it. I guess it's kinda like Mohammed and the mountain - I just crave fixing the thing, because it's there.

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: WinXP/Hardware Failure (Mozilla 1.5)

    BigAl, Have you cleared cache files? Do you have a hosts file that could be a problem? Are you running a proxy server?

    Joe
    Joe

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: WinXP/Hardware Failure (Mozilla 1.5)

    > Have you cleared cache files?

    Yes to both Mozilla and IE 6

    > Do you have a hosts file that could be a problem?

    No, no Hosts files currently.

    > Are you running a proxy server?

    No.

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: WinXP/Hardware Failure (Mozilla 1.5)

    Well let's see. How about cookies? What about security zone settings?

    Joe
    Joe

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: WinXP/Hardware Failure (Mozilla 1.5)

    Cleared all cookies, Joe (first post). I have NO sites listed in any zones in Internet Options. I've been thinking that since I did a repair install that didn't fix it, it has to be a setting somewhere in the registry that a re-install wouldn't normally change. I've been thinking it's a corrupt file or process and that may not be. What's confusing is that the "code" of certain web sites could break my browser's ability to render them.

  14. #14
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WinXP/Hardware Failure (Mozilla 1.5)

    Sounds like you could have a Browser Helper Object that's become unstuck.
    Gre

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: WinXP/Hardware Failure (Mozilla 1.5)

    I'm game for just about anything. See anything suspicious in this list? I've never paid much attention to this list, so I don't know if something in there changed recently. This, of course, is from Mozilla 1.5 and I don't know much about Helper apps in IE. Where does one find such a list? I've looked in Internet Options, General, Settings and the Objects button there shows several items in the C:WindowsDownloaded Programs folder. All but a couple of Java entries look like they're part of the original WinXP install.

    I recently allowed Real to "update" my copy to Version 10 and am thinking about un-installing that next. But then I keep reminding myself that this problem is with TWO web pages, one of which is the parent company of the other. What the <img src=/w3timages/censored.gif alt=censored border=0> RealPlayer could have to do with that is beyond me.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •