Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Locking toolbars? (XP)

    Hi,
    I have two add-ins with their own toolbars for Outlook. Both toolbars are short and can be manually made to appear on one line. However when opening Outlook, they appear on two lines - wasting screen space. I can move them back into the position I want but cannot appear to lock them into that position...so next time they are separate again. Is it possible to lock the toolbars?
    Cheers
    Cobwebs

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Locking toolbars? (XP)

    Outlook does not offer the facility to lock toolbars. Presumably, these are both 3rd Party Add-Ins - so that it is not possible to merge them together?
    Gre

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Locking toolbars? (XP)

    One is 'Snagit' the other is 'Spamdrop'. I cannot see a way to combine them. they both want to be independent!
    :-)

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Locking toolbars? (XP)

    You are NOT alone with this one, the "PDF Converter" does the same thing. <img src=/S/bwaaah.gif border=0 alt=bwaaah width=123 height=15>

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Locking toolbars? (XP)

    Toolbars can be docked in various locations using VBA code, but (1) someone would have to write the code and (2) you would have to run the code after all the add-ins finished loading (trying to automate the timing seems to pose too many problems). I've got a similarly misbehaved toolbar, so maybe I'll get around to writing some code for it in the near future. Luckily I can see all of what I want to see even without that centimeter of screen space, but two of them really would drive me up the wall.

    P.S. Because the toolbars are different for the main interface and various item windows, this is a bit trickier than Word/Excel, but at least there are far fewer toolbars!

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Locking toolbars? (XP)

    Hmmm interesting... seems we may hvae stumbled across a suitable item for the wish list! Thanks to those who replied...at least it was not something simple I had overlooked!
    Cheers
    cobwebs.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Locking toolbars? (XP)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by jscher2000 on 18-Feb-04 21:37. A bit of warning...)</P>Wish granted? Even if you are not super-familiar with VBA coding, you can use the attached pretty easily. Here are the steps:

    1. <LI>Create a new folder on your hard drive, c:testing (you could modify the code to use a different folder, but work with me for now)

      <LI>Right-click the attachment and save in c:testing

      <LI>Rename the file modCBarPosition.bas so it can easily be imported into the VB Editor

      <LI>From inside Outlook, fire up the VB Editor using Alt+F11

      <LI>From inside the VB Editor, choose File>Import... and import the modCBarPosition.bas from c:testing

      <LI>Save your Outlook project (File>Save)

      <LI>Close the VB Editor to return to Outlook

      <LI>Position your toolbars where you would like them to be saved

      <LI>Run the macro CBarSaveToXMLlb from the macros dialog, Alt+F8. If this is disabled by your security settings, you might need to set Tools>Macro>Security to Medium and restart Outlook.

      <LI>When you restart Outlook, you can run the macro CBarRestoreFromXMLlb to position the toolbars where you saved them. You can add this to a toolbar or menu using Tools>Customize... Whether it can be run automatically, well, I don't know and haven't really tried it.
    Hope this helps.

    Added: The macro will cause Outlook to update outcmd.dat, an uneditable binary file that stores toolbar information. It would be a good idea to make regular backups of this file just in case the macro causes it to go haywire. (It goes haywire on its own every now and then, so backups are always a good idea, particularly if you have customized the menus and toolbars.)

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Locking toolbars? (XP)

    Here's the attachment again.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Williamstown, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [quote name='DaveA' post='340716' date='07-Feb-2004 22:07']You are NOT alone with this one, the "PDF Converter" does the same thing. <img src=/S/bwaaah.gif border=0 alt=bwaaah width=123 height=15>[/quote]

    With regards to the PDF Converter toolbar, is there a way I can remove this permanently from the Outlook toolbars, without having to run the suggested macro?

    I have just had Acrobat Adobe 6 re-installed and this brought all the add-ins back to my PC. I have removed the add-ins and the this has got rid of them in Word and my Help Desk has removed them from my Registry(?) but the PDF Converter is the only one we cannot get rid of permanently. This toolbar only appears in Outlook.

    Thanks
    Renyne

  10. #10
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    [quote name='Renyne' post='766309' date='19-Mar-2009 13:52']With regards to the PDF Converter toolbar, is there a way I can remove this permanently from the Outlook toolbars, without having to run the suggested macro?[/quote]
    If this is a COM Add-in, you can disable it using the COM Add-ins dialog. I believe there is a button for it under Tools > Options > Advanced (or whatever the name is for the last tab in the Options dialog).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •