Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    How much RAM do I need

    Can anybody tell me how much RAM I need for the following

    I am running WinXP on a Dell Optiplex (Celeron) and normally have open 4 to 6 copies of Word 2000 (which I presume grabs far more RAM than the earlier versions one copy of Word open with 4-6 files), Outlook, sometimes Paint and have to run Acrobat DISTILLER 6 often (I am the company tech writer).

    I believe I need more RAM but the Sysadmin says 128 meg is more than adequate.

    My thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: How much RAM do I need

    <hr>believe I need more RAM but the Sysadmin says 128 meg is more than adequate<hr>

    Thats is total rubbish. WinXP does not run very good on 128MB of Ram. I would never run XP with less then 256 MB of Ram. WinXP loves Memory like a kid loves candy. Want a quick performance boost? Add more Ram and a better Video Card and I bet you will notice the difference.

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: How much RAM do I need

    Even better, go with at least 512MB. RAM is cheap these days. <img src=/S/compute.gif border=0 alt=compute width=40 height=20>

    Your sysadmin should re-read the book, this time not skipping the pages on RAM.

    <img src=/S/read.gif border=0 alt=read width=19 height=33>

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: How much RAM do I need

    Thanks to both for the ultra-fast replys

    You reflect my thoughts exactly so now the question is WHICH book (preferably from MS) as I am battling a self proclaimed "Worlds GREATEST Sysadmin"

  5. #5
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: How much RAM do I need

    Just because he is an Administrator doesn't mean that he knows SQUAT about Hardware and what makes a Computer tick.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    West Long Branch, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    1,921
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: How much RAM do I need

    We just went from 512MB RAM to 1GB RAM and have noticed a significant improvement in performance. This was for the display of thumbnails in a program called CompuPic - kind of the same procedure you could get with newer versions of Windows Explorer where the View menu allows you to choose ThumbNails as a viewing option.

    Fred

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: How much RAM do I need

    I agree with the above posts. I have 512 MB of RAM, and it runs the usual Microsoft utilities very well (Word + Powerpoint + Publisher all loaded).

    If you want multiple copies of Word to be loaded into memory you may find that 1GB gives "somewhat" better performance than 512 KB, but it may not be large.

    Remember the olde motto: "A woman cannot be too rich or too thin", and apply it to a PC, where "A PC can never have enough RAM"!

    (Who's paying for the extra RAM, anyway?)
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: How much RAM do I need

    Your "Systems Administrator" needs to get off his high horse and get down where the real people live and work. An XP system with128 MB of RAM just barely runs itself and can't get out of it's own way when you start multi tasking. If that RAM is being shared by your sound and/or graphics it becomes even more inadequate. Most users who multi-task will tell you that 512MB is the MINIMUM necessary to run the system optimally. While 128MB may be "adequate" in his book, ask him to do your job for a day and then tell you it's enough to do the job properly. Adequate is a relative term.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: How much RAM do I need

    <center>
    <hr>WHICH book (preferably from MS)<hr>
    </center>
    I just re-read your post and realized that the MS book is probably the one your systems administrator is going by. MS has ALWAYS under reported the amount of RAM required for their OS's. I poked around and came up with a few sites that support your (and our) beliefs about RAM.

    From this site I came up with the following (even though the subject was the swap file). [i]At one time, the level of RAM in a system often gave you a good idea as to how heavily the PC was used; only those with large amounts of memory really needed it since it cost too much for the casual user. This is no longer the case, many users today have PCs with 128MB of RAM running XP and editing pictures or playing games that tax the system
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  10. #10
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: How much RAM do I need

    Could you have wronged this SysAdmin in an earlier life? If it's not bad karma, perhaps it's the usual concern that what one gets everyone else will want. You could try to get a special exception from management, if you think that on balance it would not make your life more miserable. Or perhaps there is a way to appeal to the SysAdmin's geek pride and/or sense of can-do/competitiveness with an appropriate challenge of some sort. If nothing else works, there's always the possibility of dispensing appropriate favors ("let me help you with that status report").

  11. #11
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: How much RAM do I need

    <hr> well, they shoot horses, don't they<hr>

    I Thought this was about the Admin,,,,,I say,,shoot him and give the horse a break. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: How much RAM do I need

    Spoken like a true diplomat. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> That's what lawyers do when they've finished lawyering isn't it ?? That or politics. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> And you're far to nice a guy for politics. <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>

    You are correct of course, that an end run to management could alienate this fellow and make daily life miserable. If his opinion of himself is as high as is indicated, it might be difficult to challenge someone who believe's they have already conquered all that is worth conquering in their chosen field. And if, in the face of irrefutable evidence (our posts, of course <img src=/S/clever.gif border=0 alt=clever width=15 height=15>), he refused to yield to the wisdom of the masses.......... well, they shoot horses, don't they ??? <img src=/S/newbrain.gif border=0 alt=newbrain width=21 height=22> <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    West Long Branch, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    1,921
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: How much RAM do I need

    One other item I forgot to mention in my first reply on this:

    Your PC motherboard has an area on it where RAM cards plug into. On my PC, I have room for 3 RAM cards. We had 512 MB of RAM consisting of two 256 MB RAM cards. What we bought a few weeks ago was 1 card holding 512 MB RAM. Now my slots for RAM cards are all filled up.

    That does not mean that I can't add more RAM. I would replace one of the 256 MB cards, say, with another 512 MB RAM card as my next step in the future. That would give me a total of 256+512+512 MB = 1.25 GB RAM. The documentation for my PC motherboard says I can have up to a max of 3 GB RAM, which would be 3 RAM cards, each holding 1 GB.

    So if you can talk your sys admin into upgrading your RAM, you might want to at least fill up empty slots and filling the slots with the biggest RAM cards you can get. As someone said, RAM is cheap. You might get pushback saying that you don't need that much RAM for the tasks you do on your job. But 128 MB, as others have said, is really skimpy (and maybe cheap). It could even be dangerous to your mental health as you see things crawling forward very slooooowly.

    Fred

  14. #14
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: How much RAM do I need

    Tell your Administrator he needs to do a little more reading and talking to Repair Techs before he starts telling people things he knows nothing about. My bet is the money isn't coming out of his pocket for the Memory anyway,,but a Computer running 128 MB of Ram is costing the owner of the company money in many ways.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •