Thread: Macro Button

Star Lounger
    Thanks

Macro Button

Hi all,

I want to create a Button in Excel that will be able to Paste Special... as Values the range of cells that I have highlighted into, for instance, starting cell D5.

I have no idea where to begin since I am a novice user. Also, I have attached a my sample spreadsheet for more clarification.

Any help would be appreciated. Hanan.

By the way, I am using Excel'97.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Gold Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Macro Button

Attached find a copy of your Workbook with a macro button attached, which runs a macro to do what I think you want.

As you have 2 types of highlighting, green and yellow, I included both.

Perhaps you can make any changes required - the code follows :<pre>Sub CopyPaste()
    Range("A9,A14,A21,A26,A33,A38,A45,A50,A57,A62,A69, A74,A81,A86").Select
    Selection.Copy
    Range("D5").Select
    Selection.PasteSpecial Paste:=xlValues
    Application.CutCopyMode = False
    End Sub</pre>

Hope it helps

Andrew
    Attached Files Attached Files

Uranium Lounger
    Thanks

Andrews' macro will do very specifically what you want to do, but if you are a novice user, would it help to know there's already an icon to paste values, which you can drag onto the standard toolbar? One way to do this follows:
    Click menu View, Toolbars, Customize, Commands tab, under Categories, click on Edit, under Commands, scroll down a little until you see Paste Values. Drag the "clipboard with the number 12 on it" to where you want on the Excel toolbar (mine is immediately to the right of the paste icon).

Customizing your toolbars this way can really speed some things up.
    -John ... I float in liquid gardens
    UTC -7ąDS

Star Lounger
    Thanks

Thanks to you all. This help a great deal!

Hanan.

3 Star Lounger
    Thanks

In the interest of keeping things in order, I am posting a related question here: