Lounger
    Thanks

Linking worksheets (Excel XP)

I am creating linked worksheets in one workbook. So far, I have a master sheet that the data for 60 people is entered. I have created one worksheet that has all the appropriate links (35) connected for one person (one will be needed for each of the 60 people). Is there a way to somehow copy the first linked worksheet with all the styles, formatting and links, so I do not have to manually do each of the 60 required?? Yet change the link information down a row? Please say it is so [img]/forums/images/smilies/smile.gif[/img] I have attempted this several ways but an unable to figure out an easy way to change the links. Thank you

Thanks

Re: Linking worksheets (Excel XP)

copy the worksheet (it should then be identical to first). Then find/replace to find the old link and replace the new file for the new person. Repeat 60 times.

You could do it once with the macro recorder on, and then modify it to loop thru 60 times. Keep the find the same, but change the replace to read from a 60 record array that you populate with the appropriate file info.

Steve

Star Lounger
    Thanks

With all those links, you will find Navigator Utilities handy to keep track of them all. With Navigator Links, you can see all the links in a list box for each linked workbook. You can also produce a report of all links for checking that you have entered them all correctly.
    You might also find the enhanced Find/Replace utility helpful too if you are using find and replace to edit your workbook. The Navigator FInd/Replace can work across all worksheets in a workbook, or even all currently open workbooks.

regards

Lounger
    Thanks

I am not sure I understand..............Example of some of the formulas are [img]/forums/images/smilies/sad.gif[/img]=Master!$B$5) (=Master!$F$5) (=Master!$D$5) where all the 5's, now need to be 6's (etc.) in the copied worksheet. How do I do a find and replace only one character??

Thanks