Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lanyon, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    127
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    'Win32' error message

    Yup, me again. I did try and search for an answer, as I doubt I

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 'Win32' error message

    One frequent reason for such a message is that your "successful" download was, in fact, incomplete or corrupted. This could be due to a myriad of factors. Do you use a download manager? This might help ensure a download is not "finished" prematurely. I use DLExpert <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> and find it simple but very satisfactory.

    Alan

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lanyon, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    127
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 'Win32' error message

    I've used the freeware version of DAP (Download Accelerator Plus) for some time with no obvious dramas. Easy front end, options etc and generally alerts me if there is a download problem. Have you heard of DAP corrupting files? If so, I am happy to unistall DAP and try other file managers. Just want to be sure if it is a D/L manager issue, not a windows setting issue (that may be very obvoius, I just haven't picked it up_

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 'Win32' error message

    The easiest way to check is to download the file again. Before you do, empty your browser's cache, or it may just copy the cached download to the location you specify.

    You might also consider using scandisk beforehand too, to make sure the disk is completely healthy. In all other respects, I agree with Alan - typically it is a corrupted download. If you get the problem a second time, the source file may be screwed up. I've had that happen too, and when it does, I search for the same download elsewhere.
    -Mark

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 'Win32' error message

    In that case, I can't think of an alternative. If you're using DAP then that should already cover everything that DLE is supposed to do. But it did remind me of a few instances in which a download manager was actually the problem (at least DLE was). Sometimes a site will specifically prevent download via a d/l manager, and other thimes the manager itself had problems with particular files - certain small AV updates were a problem for me with DLE, but they were quite OK if downloaded by "usual" means.

    Alan

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 'Win32' error message

    Hi Alan:
    Don't want to hijack this thread, but I notice that Ad-Aware lists DAP as adware or spyware. Do you know if DLExpert has the same problem? Also, I haven't had much problem downloading directly with my ADSL line. Do you use DLEpert on a DSL or Dialup?
    Thanks,

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 'Win32' error message

    Hi Phil

    I believe DAP does contain ad/spyware, but I've heard just as many counter arguments as accusations. Maybe this thread will clear it up... or cloud it up. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    I am rather more confident that DLE is not spyware. One thing I've found with DLE is that it is geared, by default, to download several files simultaneously, with each d/l process running many threads (like 30 or so). Maybe this is appropriate to some types of connection, but I find that all it does with my cable connection is slow things down, particularly near the end of a download when things slow to a crawl. I've found fastest results from 3 files at a time and only the one thread running for each.

    Generally I find DLE very good for cable with these settings, but I don't think any real speed increase is realized on such a fast connection. I find it most useful for its batch downloading features.

    Alan

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 'Win32' error message

    Thanks, Alan. My download speeds are pretty good & I download most things before I'm physiclaly prepared to download a second item. I should probably leave well enough alone. If it ain't broke.... <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lanyon, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    127
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 'Win32' error message

    I will give it a go thanks Allan. (Unfortunately your link doesn't work, but it was very easy to find in the downloads section of wilders.org)
    Thanks for the other tips too folks, I will try them all.
    Willow

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •