Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25
  1. #1
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Zone Alarm, Again

    I'm running Zone Alarm, the freebie, at version 4.5.538.000 and I just observed a popup telling me an important security update is available - 4.5.538.<big>001</big>

    When I clicked to let it get the update, NOTHING happened. I opened the ZA program window and clicked the button to check for updates. It also told me about the available update, but again nothing happened. Just thought I'd alert everyone. I guess I'll go to the web and see for myself what's there. Sigh! I sure wish they'd fix this problem.....

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pickering, Ontario
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm, Again

    Good morning Al... I am running ZA Pro (the $$$ version) and did not get the update notice, even though my settings are set to auto-scan. Based on your note, I opened up ZA and instructed it to check for updates... it did, and ID the .001 version with the option to "download-now", which I did.

    It might appear there are 2 glitches. Yours, which tells you the update is there but you can't get it... and mine, which doesn't do the auto-check. There again, maybe the auto-scan is only performed at certain times of the day and I haven't hit that magic number!?!?!?! <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>

    [Updated at 9:09: Al, I had previously downloaded the new version as mentioned above but did not install it. Less than 5 minutes ago, it did its auto-scan function and did allow me to download the update. So, my application is working. Perhaps in yours, they posted the message before posting the file??? Have seen that happen before]

    Cheers,

    Bob
    Regards,
    Bob

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Zone Alarm, Again

    Al,
    Just did the 001 update a few minutes before logging in here. It went OK for me using the popup alert link.
    Maybe it's just letting the even numbered update checks in and stopping the odd numbered ones. ( or vice versa? )
    You're right they should fix that problem particularly after the same thing was happening with the last update.
    Just like the Verizon commercial.....Do you hear me now?

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cumberland, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    880
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm, Again

    Also using the free ZA. Checked for updates this a.m. (as I do regularly), was shown that an update was available, and downloaded and installed without any problem. Go figure.

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm, Again

    I probably should not, but I will anyway....

    My company uses ZoneAlarm as the preferred firewall for anyone with a portable computer (such as me). Upon receiving my shiny new Dell (OK, it was a hand me down) I had all kinds of problems accessing various things on the network and could not even ping. IS looked at it, came away with no ideas, but when I removed this beastly piece of software my laptop sprang onto the network without a hitch. ZA managed to do all of this with the firewall turned off. Only removing it solved the problem, and it convinced our IS manager to look into alternate solutions.

    Am I the only person in the Lounge that has this black cloud following me around everywhere I run into ZoneAlarm?

    My point with all of this is that I am far from surprised that you had the problem that you did. Experience continues to teach me that this product just doesn't work the way it should (in some respects that makes it a perfect match for Windows!).
    -Mark

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Zone Alarm, Again

    Mark,

    --------------------
    Am I the only person in the Lounge that has this black cloud following me around everywhere I run into ZoneAlarm?

    ------------------

    I think so. Why don't you run a poll to find out?


    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm, Again

    I am afraid the wording of any poll I would post would be a little visceral and not too family friendly. Instead of a poll, I may just start a new online community...
    -Mark

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm, Again

    Edited to add the last paragraph

    The wife's PC alerted her lastnight that an update was available, but she hasn't yet let me get to the PC to ensure it's done correctly (something about wanting to ensure I don't see anything on the PC about my upcoming birthday gift).

    My PC informed me at noon that an update was available, and I allowed it to download and install. I haven't rebooted yet to see if the upgrade was successful (had to return to work you know).

    I'll keep ya posted <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>.

    My laptop had no problem updating to the latest ZA. Sorry Al... I don't see your problem <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15>.
    Christopher Baldrey

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm, Again

    Just down loaded it, using the check for updates in the front of ZoneAlarm Control Center.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Tampa, Florida, USA
    Posts
    110
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm, Again

    I'm using ZA Pro version 4.5.538.001 I received a notification this afternoon, downloaded, installed and rebooted...... thus far NO PROBLEMS. <img src=/S/crossfingers.gif border=0 alt=crossfingers width=17 height=16>

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm, Again

    <hr>NO PROBLEMS<hr>
    Just wait. <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>
    -Mark

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Zone Alarm, Again

    Come on, Mark.

    Don't be so anti-Zone Alarm ( ish ) <img src=/S/notmyfault.gif border=0 alt=notmyfault width=15 height=15> Seems to work for the vast majority of users.

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm, Again

    Indeed it does work for the vast majority, but I have had problem after problem with it. And honestly....I've tried to like it and get along, but it never works out that way. I kid you not, just about every time I've used it in the past few years, it's caused nothing but odd problems, so I cannot in good faith be for it, particularly when there are alternatives that work as well or better and don't have the track record ZA does. If I wasn't vocal about the very real problems I have seen, I would be doing a disservice.
    -Mark

  14. #14
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Dallas plus 20 miles or so, Texas, USA
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm, Again

    I have had problems with ZoneAlarm also, and have since switched to Agnitum Outpost Free Version, which I like so much I am going to order the pay version. And, I might add, it took me a long, long time to get the little beast off of my computer.

  15. #15
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    London, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    437
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm, Again

    Well Mark, I must admit, I have been a happy Zone Alarm user for quite some time but I've just run into a very frustrating experience. I have two machines one running XP and the other acts as a fax server running Win 2000 SP3. They both received auto notification for ZA and both uploaded the new release. The XP machine is humming along just fine. Win 2000 box however, failed on the update installation and reported VSPUBAPI.DLL could not be found in the specified path .... Tried to uninstall to re-install and it can't uninstall software by reason of the same missing dll. The result appears to be my XP machine can't see the 2000 box. The 2000 box can see the XP however. Anyway, I'm not a happy camper and I'm searching for a means of uninstalling ZA because I really don't want to re-install Win 2000. If anyone has run into this in the past I'd appreciate any advise. Cheers.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •