Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Scanner (WinXP Pro\Brother 3100C Scanner)

    Can someone help me. I have a scanner and it works OK,,but my problem is I don't know how to scan a Document. When I scan something it will only scan as an Image. Once I have the Image it doesn't copy into Word or Publisher right. How can I scan the Document to look and work like a Document where I can type things in and stuff?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Scanner (WinXP Pro\Brother 3100C Scanner)

    To my knowledge, scans are always images. In order to convert an image containing "text," you'll need some OCR software and that, my friend, is a real tough challenge. I've tried a number of them, all with very limited success. Your Google is as good as mine, so take a browse and be sure you don't lay out any dough without at least a trial period. Maybe someone can recommend something they've had better success with than my bad luck.

    Since you have a Brother, here's a place to start.

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Scanner (WinXP Pro\Brother 3100C Scanner)

    I use OmniPro for scanning documents into Word (or other applications). The single biggest problem with OCR is that specks of dust can be mistaken as apostrophes or other punctuation. If the source document is clean and clear, your chances of success are much higher. Just keep in mind that no matter what software you choose, you are going to have to do some cleanup.

    Also, generally speaking, you get exactly what you pay for in OCR software. If you plan to do a lot of document scanning, invest up front and save yourself some aggravation. The more work the application does on your behalf, the less frustrated you will be.
    -Mark

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Confoederatio Helvetica
    Posts
    602
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Scanner (WinXP Pro\Brother 3100C Scanner)

    Cowboy,
    I use Read-Iris, which came bundled with my HP scanner, and it works very well - and in multiple languages too <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>. I haven't seen the need to upgrade to the "Pro" version but if its as good as the free version ...

    You can find out more on this by following Big Al's link above.

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wetherby, Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Scanner (WinXP Pro\Brother 3100C Scanner)

    Cowboy
    I don't do much of this but I've had pretty good results with a free software called SimpleOCR. You can check it out here .

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Huntersville, North Carolina
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Scanner (WinXP Pro\Brother 3100C Scanner)

    When scanning you have to make an early decision: Image or Text, then choose the right software program on your PC (assuming one program can not do both).

    You probably have several IMAGE editing software programs (from your camera or pre-installed packageware, even Paint), which will also scan (sometimes referred to as ACQUIRE). So you can probably scan images and save in JPEG or GIF format for later editing using one of your software programs. But, please don't scan text as an image and expect to save in Word.

    For TEXT scanning, you need OCR (Optical Scanning Recognition) software, such as the OmniPro mentioned by WyllyWylly ( I have version 10 - $100). This is what you want to do.

    Ok, now follow me here. I open my Canon camera software and it prompts me to do an image or OCR. I select OCR and it prompts me to do a scan, but I have to select Text again. The scan starts; when finished it is in text form as OmniPro (magically) opens. I can spell check, delete dust specks and nonessential areas and rescan. Then save as a Word doc. Sorry to be so patronizing, but this is not so intuitive.

    We did not get into TWAINS those mysterious scanner drivers needed to talk to Windows, but you didn't ask.

    Good luck and practice, practice.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •