Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Desktop

  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Desktop

    Is there a way to put the "Show Desktop" function of the Quick Launch icon on to a key macro?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Arlington, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,394
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Desktop

    Not sure what you mean by "key macro"?? If using a Windows enabled keyboard (one that has a Windows key) you can use WIN key + D to invoke the Show Desktop command (equivalent to the "Show Desktop" Quick Launch shortcut). For other standard Windows key shortcuts, see attached illustration (from WinKey 2.8, a program that allows you to create custom Windows key shortcuts in addition to the standard ones shown).

    HTH
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Desktop

    Mark:

    You're right... I must be out to lunch...

    Thanks...

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  4. #4
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktop

    No,,Out To Lunch is >Windows Key +L.. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Desktop

    Does that make Hee-Hee WinKey + H?

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktop

    I really like how the XP screen shot you have attached tells users that the first combination requires the IE 4.01 desktop update...guess it isn't an effective use of Microsoft's labour to update their dialog boxes. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    -Mark

  7. #7
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Arlington, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,394
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Desktop

    As my previous reply probably did not make clear, the dialog box is actually one generated by WinKey (a very useful utility), not by Windows XP itself (though an out-of-date dialog box in Windows would be no big surprise). The attached screen shot is taken from Windows XP Help. Note there are some new shortcuts (such as WIN + L and WIN + U) that were introduced in WIN XP or WIN 2K. The shortcut they left out is the one that will recover your system when Windows locks up, freezes, or crashes.... since there are usually two Windows keys on newer keyboards, perhaps one could be used for the shortcuts, and the other be designated as a "panic button" to press when your system crashes....
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #8
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Arlington, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,394
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Desktop

    In further reply, perhaps the 2nd Windows key, pressed alone, should be configured to equate to pressing CTRL+ALT+DEL, instead of opening the Start menu. Now that would be a real time-saver....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •