Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    491
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Missing Menu (WIN2000-AC97)

    I have one user who has 'lost' her menu bar (FILE/EDIT etc...) in all of her Access databases.
    This issue is limited to her machine only.

    Any database that she tries to open, I can open on everyone else's PC and the Menus are there.

    I'm not sure where to look or what settings to adjust.

    *EDITED WITH MORE INFO*

    Well, I found out what the problem is, but I don't know how to fix it (or
    how it could have happened)
    When I right click on the toolbar, and select "Customize", I see she is missing the
    selecton "Menu Bar" !! Well, it makes sense that that is the reason she has no menu !!
    How can I get it back ?
    <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>

    Can you please advise ?

    Thanks!
    Michael

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Missing Menu (WIN2000-AC97)

    Try doing a repair install of Office 97 or Access 97 (i.e. don't uninstall first, just run the installation again.

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    491
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Menu (WIN2000-AC97)

    Thank you Hans. I will notify the IT dept. on Monday.

    Any usual cause for this to happen? I've been here 5 years, and this is the first time I have seen this.

    Sincerely,
    Michael

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Missing Menu (WIN2000-AC97)

    I've never seen it myself, and I have no idea about the cause. In Access 2002 you can move the menu bar around, with a bit of (bad) luck even move it offscreen, but you couldn't do that in Access 97 if I remember correctly...

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Missing Menu (WIN2000-AC97)

    It's likely that one of the Acces support files got stepped on or deleted somehow, since she's seeing it on all databases. Unfortunately, it is possible to remove built in menus and toolbars, so it may be something the user did themselves..
    Charlotte

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    491
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Menu (WIN2000-AC97)

    <hr>it may be something the user did themselves<hr>
    Isn't it always ? <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>

    Michael

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •