New Lounger
    Thanks

Bad registry font entry (Version 2002 - SP1)

Some months ago I installed and shortly after uninstalled a piece of software that made fancy use of fonts. The uninstallation was buggy - it obliterated a number of registry entries for fonts and all fonts seemed to disappear, making the Win XP PC unusable! A knowledgeable friend of mine with remote access was able to restore the font registry entries and we thought all was well. However, there turned out to be one remaining bug. Certain applications windows use the old largish FIXEDSYS font in displaying text, which can (1) increase the window size to be larger than the monitor and (2) crowd out some of the text from a fixed size window so that you can't read it all. I'm no registry expert, but I suspect there's one line in the registry that needs addition or replacement. My friend didn't know where in the registry to look. I made the mistake of phoning Microsoft ($35/incident) and they refused to let me talk to anyone who knew about fonts or the registries - they said either do a Restore (really too much time has passed since the incident) or a clean Win XP install. This seems like major surgery when minor surgery is called for. Does anyone have any hints or pointers? If we know exactly where to look and what to look for, my knowledgeable friend will be happy to amend the registry again for me.

Many thanks,

Harry Kaplan

Thanks

Re: Bad registry font entry (Version 2002 - SP1)

Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/Software/Microsoft/WindowsNT/CurrentVersion/FontMapper. FIXEDSYS should appear as a DWORD value with a hex value of 9000 (at least on my system). If this exists on your system, try setting the value to hex 9000. If it does not exist, you can create the entry (edit, new, DWORD value). Hope this helps..
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

Platinum Lounger
    Thanks