Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN, Minnesota
    Posts
    162
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Web Page Form (Access 2K)

    I have a form that collects data on a web page that I maintain using FrontPage. The name of the database is Job_Application and is stored on the web server. When I enter sample data in the form (on the internet) it does not show up in the data base table on the web server. I have all the fields on the form linked properly to a database table. When I go to the web server and open the database, the name of the database changes (i.e Job_Applicaton2, Job_Application4, etc...) Can someone assist me with this problem?
    Easy Access

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,624
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Web Page Form (Access 2K)

    It sounds like FrontPage is doing unexpected things - is it creating new databases on the server by chance? I've not had good luck trying to use databases with FrontPage and resorted to using ASP or ASP.net with the WebMatrix tool. Another alternative if all your users run Office is to create Data Access Pages, though they have some limitations in 2000.
    Wendell

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN, Minnesota
    Posts
    162
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Web Page Form (Access 2K)

    Thanks for your response Wendell. The "new" database is being created in the "Temp" folder of the computer that I am using. A Data Access page could be created (with your help, of course <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> ) if that were necessary, but I would like to explore some possible solutions based on my problem.
    Easy Access

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,624
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Web Page Form (Access 2K)

    Sorry for the delay - I got involved in jury duty, but am now finished. If I understand, you are trying to capture data from a form and store it in a database. I don't have FrontPage 2000 any longer, but I believe the process is still the same in 2002. Once your form is designed, right click on the HTML area of your form, and select the Form Properties. Choose the "Send to Database" and click OK. You should then be prompted about editing your form settings. Click Yes, and you get a new dialog box that lets you set the options for saving the form results. The Connection section of that dialog box lets you specify a connection to an existing database, and you can also specify what table the results should be stored in. On the tab labeled Saved Fields you specify which fields on the form get stored in which field in the table. That about exhausts my knowledge of FrontPage, so if this doesn't resolve the problem, I would suggest moving this thread to the FrontPage forum. Good luck.
    Wendell

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN, Minnesota
    Posts
    162
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Web Page Form (Access 2K)

    Thanks for the response. We had to rebuild the database and the problem has not manifested itself again. I will keep an eye out for any future events.
    Easy Access

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •