Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Resources (XP Pro)

    m
    Make sure that your paging file is set to" Managed by System"

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Resources (XP Pro)

    I'm curious as to why you suggest that. I always manage the swap file myself for various reasons. How would allowing Windows to manage the swap file address what the poster is experiencing?
    -Mark

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    System Resources (XP Pro)

    Edited by WyllyWylly to add POST tag. See the markup help. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    I have been battling a system resource problem on my Dell 5100 for some time now (see <post#=327045>post 327045</post#>). Previously the symptoms were that after the computer sits idle for >6 hours, and I would try to start any application (e.g. start Word or Internet Explorer, I would get an error message "Insufficient system resources exist to complete the requested service." I have spent numerous hours trying to find the cause of this problem but have not been able to isolate anything.

    But now the problem has gotten worse. I installed a Linksys wireless access point on my home office network and installed a Linksys WPC54G wireless card for the notebook computer. The wireless connection appears to work great. But after 3 hours (yes, just 3 hours) the system will exhibit the same symptoms what took >6 hours previously. There are two symptoms - the "insufficient resources" error message mentioned above and the fact that the computer ports (e.g. network - wired or wireless, printers, modems) will stop working. Sometimes one of these symptoms happens before the other but they are both always present.

    The last time this happened, I had Task Manager running. Under the performance tab, here is what it told me (this is after I received the error message and the ports stopped working):
    Physical Memory: Total 523,192, Available 219,604, System Cache 123,608.
    Kernal Memory: Total 163,868, Paged 32,804, Nonpaged 131,064.
    Totals: Handles 5,540, Threads 306, Processes 30.
    Commit Charge: Total 264,980, Limit 1,279,824, Peak 359,908.
    CPU Usage was around 1-3%.

    None of that appears to me to indicate a resource problem. When I reboot and look at those same indicators, I get the following:
    Physical Memory: Total 523,192, Available 219,144, System Cache 263,688.
    Kernal Memory: Total 88,024, Paged 31,971, Nonpaged 56,400.
    Totals: Handles 5,503, Threads 304, Processes 30.
    Commit Charge: Total 216,580, Limit 1,279,824, Peak 216,812.

    The one difference I notice is that a process WPC54CFG.exe is continuously running, varying between 0 and 1% of CPU usage. I know that this is associated with the new wireless card but I am not sure what it does, whether it is needed, or whether it has any relation to the resource problem.

    If this is a resource problem, how do I isolate it? Where, other than task manager, can I look to see what the resource hog is? I have tried turing off various services (via services.msc) but the problem is that I had to wait >6 hours to see if there was an effect. I worked at this for weeks but was never able to associate any of the services to the resource problem. This is very frustrating and I would appreciate any assistance.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Resources (XP Pro)

    It was a recommended solution to this problem by a MS MVP. Anyway it cant do any harm to try it

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Resources (XP Pro)

    No, there isn't any harm in trying it. I just wondered what the relevance was. I am not certain the exact nature of the problem has been determined yet, so I was not thinking solutions.
    -Mark

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Resources (XP Pro)

    Speaking generally it is suggested that memory management via manual page file adjustments has been both misunderstood and the subject of advice much of it wrong. Windows XP does a pretty good job in this respect and as a starting point any misguided manual settings are eliminated. With modern computers with say commomnly 512 MB RAM the page file is likely to be well managed by windows

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: System Resources (XP Pro)

    Jim,
    Do you let the network card(s) be powered down when the PC goes into standby? I've seen that cause problems when the NIC has trouble waking up. Also, can you post a list of the active processes when the problems occur?

    Joe
    Joe

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Resources (XP Pro)

    No, I do not allow the NICs to be powered down. But my current problem occurs while I am actively working on the laptop - consistently after about 3 hours IF the wireless network card is installed. If the network card is not installed, the problem appears to be as before - only occurring after >6 hours of being idle. Also, in all cases, it is not just the NIC card that is "lost". When the problem happens, I loose all ports (NICs, modem, printers) and I cannot start new applications.

    In most cases, when this happens, even if I had Task Manager running before the problem happened, if I try to click on Task Manager or do anything, the system just keeps giving insufficient resources errors and applications will not start or refresh. No application appears to be running (i.e. no disc access) when the problem occurs but when I try to reboot the computer it can take quite a while for it to end the applications (like explorer) as if something were running and tying up the system.

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: System Resources (XP Pro)

    Do you have SP-1 installed? Seems like you've got a memory leak. Have you tried a repair installation?

    Joe
    Joe

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Resources (XP Pro)

    Joe,

    Yes I have SP-1. I tried repair back when I first started having these problems but not since I installed the wireless card. It does act like a memory leak. I have been trying for months to isolate the problem but no luck. Now that the wireless card has increased the frequency to 3 hours, the problem has become even more frustrating. The thing I can't figure out is, if it is a memory leak, the numbers I listed in my initial post above don't seem to show that.

    Just as an aside, I have been experiencing a similar problem on one of my two desktop computers running XP Home. I encounter resource errors there too but after days of running, not hours.

    This has obviously become very frustrating and is now interrupting my work. I need a better way to identify the problem (memory leak or whatever).

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Resources (XP Pro)

    Can you list - or grab a screen shot - of all running resources? It would be interesting to know what software you are running beyond the vanilla XP installation.

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Resources (XP Pro)

    I am not sure how to go about this. If I do a print screen, I don't see how to copy it into the reply message. If I copy it into Word, the document is 150K and the attach file note says 100K max.

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Resources (XP Pro)

    Hit: Alt + Print Scrn
    Open: Paint.exe
    Paste the image into Paint.
    Save the file as a .jpg on your Desktop.
    Attach the file here.

  14. #14
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Resources (XP Pro)

    Problem is, the file created that way is 293KB

  15. #15
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Resources (XP Pro)

    Got it down using Zip. The attached is a print screen of the task manager from my laptop computer.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •