Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Word2K Doesn't Remember Saving

    When I close a Word2K document, I first save it and then immediately close it. When I enter the Close command, Word asks whether I want to save changes to the document.
    How do I get Word2K to stop asking whether I want to do what I've just done?

    Thanks for your help!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Word2K Doesn't Remember Saving

    This is not normal behavior. By any chance, do you have a customized FileClose command or Document_Close event procedure? The should show up in your macros dialog box. The second could be hidden in your document, attached template, normal.dot, or an add-in (perhaps) and I'm not sure how to check.

    Another possibility is that you have a customized FileSave command that makes a change to the document after saving. Oh...also maybe this is one of those WordPerfect transitional things. Do you use that?

    Okay, some tests:

    (1) Use the macros dialog, but in the drop down list labeled Macros in... change to Word commands and run FileSave from there. If you then can close without the (un)usual warning, there's something about your FileSave that is creating a problem.

    (2) Save normally, then use the macros dialog, FileClose command, and see if you are prompted. If not, there's something about FileClose or Document_Close.

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word2K Doesn't Remember Saving

    >change to Word commands and run FileSave from there.

    I like this! A means of circumventinmg any customizations that may be lurking, right?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Word2K Doesn't Remember Saving

    > A means of circumventinmg any customizations that may be lurking, right?

    That's the idea. That's why I said this is evil in the Disable Macro Option thread when Kevin threatened to take it away.

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    84
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word2K Doesn't Remember Saving

    <img src=/S/new.gif border=0 alt=new width=35 height=15>We have the same problem at my firm. We do have customized file/save, save as and close macros since we are using a document management program (DocsOpen from Hummingbird). It's annoying, but I've never considered it a problem. Should we be trying to fix this?

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Tallahassee, Florida, USA
    Posts
    901
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word2K Doesn't Remember Saving

    <img src=/S/thinks.gif border=0 alt=thinks width=15 height=15>We have Docs 3.8.2 and Word2K on Win2K environ. I've seen it do this if the document isn't profiled in Docs, but if it's profiled, we can save, Replace existing and then close without being prompted the second time.
    Karen

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Word2K Doesn't Remember Saving

    > I've never considered it a problem. Should we be trying to fix this?

    No, those integration macros are hideously complex, and then you probably will get blamed for anything that goes wrong. I wouldn't change a thing if it doesn't bother you.

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word2K Doesn't Remember Saving

    I'm not sure what I did, but something corrected the problem. I'm sorry to be so vague about this, but I've been collecting fixes to a couple of Word problems from several sources and at the same time solving problems that my former ISP created for me. So while things are now working right (and I have a new ISP), I'm not sure what caused what. I'm sure of this, however: I'm grateful to all of you for your help!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •