Star Lounger
    Thanks

Need tutorial on publishing to Web (Access 2003)

I need to learn how to publish an Access database to the Web. I have never done this before. Can someone point me to a good tutorial Web site (preferable) or book that goes through the basics of this.

Please forgive me if this has been asked on this forum before, and many thanks in advance.

Don.

Super Moderator
    Thanks

Re: Need tutorial on publishing to Web (Access 2003)

One of the challenges is that there are several ways to do what you suggest, and the process is rather different for each. Do you need to be able to update information in the database from a web page, or will it simply be a display of data that exists in the database? Editing via the web is a good deal more complicated.
    Wendell

Star Lounger
    Thanks

I actually have 2 tasks to accomplish. One is just a display of data, with the user able to check a box and copy the checked items to a file. The other is a form that the user fills out and then the data is added to a database.

Super Moderator
    Thanks

Actually both of your tasks involve some dynamic interchange with data, so I can suggest three choices (there are probably others such as Cold Fusion):<UL><LI>Use FrontPage to build your web pages - there are a number of books and web info is plentiful - see our FrontPage forum for example<LI>Create Access Data Access Pages - this introductory topic might be enough to get you started - then I would look at the Access Developer's Handbook<LI>Use ASP or ASP.net to create dynamic pages - the Web Matrix Project is one of the less painful ways to get started.[/list]However each of these have a fairly significant learning curve that has to be navigated, and unfortunately learning one doesn't help much with the other. If I were doing it I would probably choose the ASP.net approach, as it works with most browsers, while the others are likely to require IE or some form of Office on the workstation. Good luck.
    Wendell