Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Dallas plus 20 miles or so, Texas, USA
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    PC shuts down during virus scan

    Hello everyone,

    Here are the symptoms:

    Virus scan causes the W98SE box to shut down with no warning. Have tried Norton, Trend Micro, Avast! (which is superbly done I might add), and the online Housecall scan here. All four cause the box to reboot during the scan (don't know exactly where during the scan it happens). A few minutes ago, I was browsing ZDNet and it happened again just out of the blue (first time while not doing a virus scan).

    I can reboot into safe mode and run all of the disk resident scanners. Am only currently using Avast!, having uninstalled the others a month or so ago. Even back a month or two when I had the other scanners it would happen. Also happens SOMETIMES when using AdAware or Spybot S&D.

    My best educated guess is an intermittent power supply problem from the system resource intensive scans. Anybody out there with some thoughts that might indicate something to the contrary? Some sort of virus or trojan maybe?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: PC shuts down during virus scan

    One thing to do that's much easier than diagnosing intermittent wiring/power errors is a thorough memory test. In the bad old days, a memory chip error could cause a reboot; not sure about a power off.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Dallas plus 20 miles or so, Texas, USA
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: PC shuts down during virus scan

    Jefferson, as much as I know about PCs, I do not know how to do a memory test. Any tips or Google on it? I did manage to grab the following from Aida32 about the voltages and I'm not sure if the +2.5v should be this low? Or does it even matter? Thanks!
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Dallas plus 20 miles or so, Texas, USA
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: PC shuts down during virus scan

    Sorry 'bout the stupid question (Googling gives numerous hits about memory checks). Never have known that there was such a thing until you mentioned it (thanks!). I downloaded and ran Memtest86 and both times I ran it the PC rebooted before finishing the tests! Not quite sure what this means, but since I have twin 512 sticks of PC2700 I think I'll start with the power supply unless there are any other suggestions.

    I also tried making a Ghost image of one of the drives and it rebooted before finishing if that adds to the picture of what's happening!

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: PC shuts down during virus scan

    This is where you take out the memory sticks one at a time, to see whether the problem is associated with either the one or the other stick.

    Suppose the two memory slots are called 0 and 1.
    Power off normally, ground yourself to the case, and carefully remove the stick from slot 1.
    Power up again, and try your virus scans/whatever else used to cause it to fail.
    If it still fails, the problem may be associated with the stick in the PC.
    If it doesn't fail, it could be the stick you removed.

    Now power off again normally,
    ground yourself again
    and remove the remaining stick from slot 0 of the machine,
    then replace it with the stick you originally removed from slot 1.
    Power up, and do all the tests again.

    Need I go on? (But beware that your removals/replacements may have meant that the sticks are now seated correctly in the slots, and everything may now work perfectly!!).

    Good luck -- and [nag] [nag] be careful!!

    PS And yes, your 2.5V line looks very low.... That may well be the problem after all? (But then I'm not a hardware expert...)
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Dallas plus 20 miles or so, Texas, USA
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: PC shuts down during virus scan

    Yup, looks like that's the next step. I cannot find anything on Google that even lists a 2.5v line for a power supply, much less with a description of what it's for!

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: PC shuts down during virus scan

    You may get an answer about the 2.5 V line from some of the chaps (and ms-chaps?) who build their own PCs, do over-clocking, etc.

    (I suspect my description of "How to Test Memory" was like teaching my grandmother to suck eggs...)
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pickering, Ontario
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: PC shuts down during virus scan

    Hi Mike,

    I had a similar experience a few months back when I added a 160GB hard drive to my environment. It turns out not all the correct processes were in place to accept the large drive. Have you perhaps recently added a hard drive with a capacity in excess of 137GB?

    Cheers,

    Bob
    Regards,
    Bob

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: PC shuts down during virus scan

    Michael,
    WOW, that 2.5 volt line is WAY too low ! Less than half voltage. That line is your CPU core voltage. ( one of them ) and should be close to the expected level, at least.

    Now, with your 5 volt and 12 volt lines being very close to normal, I would NOT expect the trouble to be in your PSU, since they are the two voltages it supplies.

    First. Depending on your BIOS and MB, you can adjust these CPU voltages from within the BIOS. My particular AWARD BIOS and Gigabyte MB allows voltage adjustments, ( up or down ) for both the CPU and the memory sticks. Go into your BIOS and look for settings in a Performance Tab. ( I forget the exact phrase that's in mine, but I can get it for you if needed )

    Second. If you either don't have settings like the above, or they are where they should be, Then I would suspect a voltage dropping condition on your MB. A changed value in a dropping resistor or the like. That's the bad news!

    Another remote possibility, might be a component, like a plug in card or memory stick that is loading down the voltage supply line to where it is.
    The card or stick would have to be sharing that supply line to do that and it would be rather poor design on the part of the MB manufacturer to do that. But who knows? You could TRY unplugging some of the non-vital cards out to see if that makes any difference.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  10. #10
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: PC shuts down during virus scan


  11. #11
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: PC shuts down during virus scan

    Try the newsgroup alt.comp.hardware.pc-homebuilt and the forums at http://forums.hardwareguys.com/ikonboard.cgi.

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Dallas plus 20 miles or so, Texas, USA
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: PC shuts down during virus scan

    Well, after a day at work and a trip to the store I have upgraded from a 400w PS to an aluminum encased 2 fan 500w PS from Allied. (I now have so many case, PS, and HD cooler fans, I have to hold my cap down when I turn on the box!)

    After installing the new PS, I immediately ran MemTest86 on a thorough test for 87 minutes until it reached 99 percent pass and wanted to start the 6 hour data retainer test and restart the clock for a 6 hour wait. Qualifies as "PASS" in my book.

    Next step will be a virus check and then a Ghost image. So far, it seems that the PS replacement/upgrade has fixed the problem. Since I am running three hard drives at some times maybe it might have been insufficent power? who knows?

    By the way, the "technician" today said that the 2.5v line is for the memory(RAM). Might be, might not...when asked about a switching power supply he said it meant that it had a switch on the back to convert between US and European voltage. <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15>

    I appreciate the comments and advice from everyone concerning this issue!

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: PC shuts down during virus scan

    Mike,
    --------------------------------------------
    By the way, the "technician" today said that the 2.5v line is for the memory(RAM). Might be, might not...when asked about a switching power supply he said it meant that it had a switch on the back to convert between US and European voltage
    -------------------------------------------
    There are technicians, and then there are TECHNICIANS. If I were you, I would "switch" technicians . <img src=/S/doh.gif border=0 alt=doh width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/flee.gif border=0 alt=flee width=25 height=25>
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •