Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unable to ping by URL

    And that seems to be only half of it.

    I've been asked to checkout a problem for a co-worker with their home Win98 PC. The PC will not browse internet sites. It will also not successfully URLs, but it will get results by pinging an IP address. I've confirmed this at their home, on their direct connection to the Cable ISP.

    Failing to get a working system at her house, I brought the PC home with me, where I have a LAN setup. I've connected the problem PC to the LAN, and it successfully shares files via IP address, yet still doesn't browse the web, or get results from pinging via URL. Pings via IP Address still work.

    I've attempted to resolve this problem by removing and re-installing the network card drivers (would have removed the card, but it's an intigrated one), and I've also tried assigning both Static and DHCP configurations for the IP Address.

    Does anyone have a thought??
    Christopher Baldrey

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unable to ping by URL

    Hi Chris:
    Is it possible that the machine has a hosts file that redirects any attempts to browse the web? I'm guessing that you already looked to see if a firewall is blocking access (although that would block a ping also, wouldn't it?) I haven't used any content advisor/blockers, but is anything like that activated under Internet Options? (Just a few random thoughts. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>)

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unable to ping by URL

    Sorry Phil.. should have stated that in my original message. All content blockers and firewalls have been removed, or disabled, and the hosts file doesn't exist.
    Christopher Baldrey

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unable to ping by URL

    By chance, was the firewall that was removed Zone Alarm? I ask because I have ZA & once in awhile, for no apparent reason, it blocks all access to the Internet. Of course, it does "redirect" me to a ZA web page on my machine. But if you've removed ZA, it may have left something behind in the registry.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unable to ping by URL

    That I can't tell - a number of things were simply deleted without going through the Add/Remove software, and others were removed propery before I got too see the PC.

    Also... the proxy settings for IE aren't keeping the settings when I change them - they keep going back to the incorrect settings after each reboot.
    Christopher Baldrey

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unable to ping by URL

    Hi Chris:
    Boy, that makes it difficult. This is all I could find on the MSKB that might apply. You could check the proxy settings in the registry by looking at How to Configure Client Proxy Server Settings by Using a Registry File.

    If all the updates were applied, then see You Cannot Connect to the Internet After You Install Microsoft Updates.

    I found <!mskb=315054>Microsoft Knowledge Base Article 315054<!/mskb> & <!mskb=262981>Microsoft Knowledge Base Article 262981<!/mskb> concerning proxy problems, but I can't tell if these will be helpful or not. I don't envy your task.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unable to ping by URL

    Thanks Phil, the MKBA 315054 got the changes to the proxy setting resolved, but I'm still unable to browse the web, or ping by URL. It's going to be one of those projects it looks like.
    Christopher Baldrey

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unable to ping by URL

    Might be easier just to format & reinstall Windows. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unable to ping by URL

    I've suggested that - we'll see what the answer is. I do like fresh installs however <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>.
    Christopher Baldrey

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Unable to ping by URL

    Chris,

    Have you only tried to access URLs by using Internet Explorer, or have you tried other software?
    What error message do you get when trying to access URLs?

    If you don't have another browser handy to try then you could check whether this is an IE problem by opening a command window and typing<font face="Georgia">
    Telnet www.wopr.com 80
    Get help.htm
    </font face=georgia>
    You can use any other vaild web site instead of www.wopr.com, and don't worry that the Get help.htm doesn't echo back to the screen, just type the text followed by a Carriage Return and see if the html code comes back.

    StuartR

    Edited by StuartR to add
    I just remembered that Windows 98 has a strange Telnet client, but you can still use this method. Choose Remote System... from the Connect menu, in the drop down list box where it offers you a choice of ports (telnet, daytime etc.) ignore the contents and just type 80.

  11. #11
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unable to ping by URL

    Removing the remnants of ZA after an incorrect uninstall is a right, royal PITA. Have a look at this thread (about half way down) to see the laborious process of cleaning up the system.

    Alan

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unable to ping by URL

    I asked her about the ZoneAlarm, and whether it had been installed. She said it had not.

    So, to make my life easy, and her wallet not as empty, she agreed to a fresh installation, right from an fdisk. Ahh... I love a freshly installed (and patched) OS.
    Christopher Baldrey

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unable to ping by URL

    Thanks to everyone that responded to my inquiry. The person who owns the PC agreed to let me start fresh, and I've been able to return it to her this evening.

    In fact, she was amazed at how fast the PC is now. It's really amazing how fast PCs run, when there isn't a ton of things starting at boot up, and clogging up the resourses.

    Thanks again!
    Christopher Baldrey

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unable to ping by URL

    Was that an offer. My machine is on it's way to your house. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •