Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    538
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Borders/Apply to (Word97, SR 2)

    Problem with Borders/Apply to. I have so confused myself that this explanation is probably not coherent, but here goes:

    In the table, the first rows gave me no problem: went to Format/Borders/ Paragraph.

    It

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Borders/Apply to (Word97, SR 2)

    Hi Curious:
    I think the only way to accomplish what you want, if I've understood you correctly, is to select a cell in the 2nd row, go to Table Properties/Cell tab/Options, UNcheck same as whole table for cell margins , & change the cell margins individually. Then apply your paragraph borders, not to the cell, but to the paragraph. See attached.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    538
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Borders/Apply to (Word97, SR 2)

    Phil -

    Thank you for your response and attachment.

    What I need is for both the cells containing the 'x' and 'y' text to be underlined with one line (i.e., border/bottom line), then a small gap and the cells containing the 'a' and 'b' text to have one line, another small gap and the next two cells sharing a line.

    It is getting the gap between the sets of cells that has me baffled.

    That's why I was indicating paragraph in 'Apply to' - para lines will not stretch to the cells' borders.Which I thought I could use to create the gap between the sets, but the lines are of different heights from those of a cell's bottom border.


    Something like: x+y a+b c+d where x+y are underlined; then a space; c+d are underlined, a space, etc.

    Have I confused this issue sufficiently?

    Thanks,
    Curious

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Borders/Apply to (Word97, SR 2)

    It seems to me that the document Phil attached does exactly what you want. The alternative would be to insert cells, as you indicated in the first post in this thread, and use cell borders. See attached version.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    538
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Borders/Apply to (Word97, SR 2)

    Hans - yes; your attachment shows what I want; when I opened Phil's attachment, I saw gaps between each cell.

    You accomplished what you did using Phil's method, right? Seems to me that is what I tried w/o your success! Darn.


    Thanks to you both.

    Curious

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Borders/Apply to (Word97, SR 2)

    Curious,

    Phil changed the cell margins; the result looks fine in Word 2002, but perhaps that doesn't work in Word 97. I inserted blank cells in the second and third row.

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    538
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Borders/Apply to (Word97, SR 2)

    Hans -

    Thank you. I thought it might have something to do with the different versions of Word (as I said, I'm using Word97). You say you inserted blank cells - that's the same as a blank column, right?

    Thanks again for clarifying.

    I wonder if anyone using Word97 has a technique for what I'm after..................

    Curious

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Borders/Apply to (Word97, SR 2)

    I selected (for example) the two cells containing "yyy..." and "5.0 x", and selected Table | Insert | Cells..., but that may very well be new in Word 2000/2002 too. I don't have a machine with Word 97 readily available any more. But I think you should be able to use Table | Split Cells to get the same effect.

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    538
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Borders/Apply to (Word97, SR 2)

    Thank you, again, Hans -- for your explanation and speed!

    I had tried inserting cells horizontally. Never thought doing it vertically! Shall give it a go tomorrow. Your tutorial is, as always, excellent.

    I am indebted. Curious

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Borders/Apply to (Word97, SR 2)

    Hi Curious:
    I used Word 2000 to create the lines. I just tried saving the document by disabling features not supported by Word 97 & still got the same thing. I've attached a screenshot. Do you get this or do you see something different?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  11. #11
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    538
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Borders/Apply to (Word97, SR 2)

    I am grateful to you, Phil and Hans, for your help. It is SUCH a comfort to know you and your colleagues are available!

    I resolved my problem by splitting the cells. I believe versions newer than Word97 offer more choices regarding tables, cells, etc.

    Till next time,

    Many many thanks.

    Curious

    P.S. Phil, no, I couldn't emulate your attachment.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •