Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: WIN ME Password

  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Pleasant Hill, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    WIN ME Password

    I am using a WIN ME system that I would like to password protect upon Windows startup. Basically I would like to be able to have multiple people be able to login with their own passwords, like XP. We have been running this system for quite a while and we by-passed the password login. We would now like to get this back. What do we need to do to have this pop-up when we start Windows? Any help you could give would be wonderful.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    43.8N 81.0W, Ontario
    Posts
    815
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WIN ME Password

    Try this........
    Go to.......Start > Settings > Control Panel.....Run the "Users" program.
    Click on the Users icon and run the Add User Wizard.
    Click the New User button........you should be able to find your way from here.

    Have a Great day!!!
    Ken
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/KenK_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WIN ME Password

    If you are wanting to secure the individual user accounts, I think you will find it to be an uphill battle. User accounts in Win9x are essentially insecure, they are just separate desktops and settings. You cannot define per-user accounts in the same way that you would under Windows XP, since Win9x was never designed to be a true multi-user system.
    -Mark

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Pleasant Hill, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WIN ME Password

    So, let me get this straight; WIN ME does not allow for an administrator login to control access to programs/directories like XP? That's a bummer since the main reason I wanted to do this was to limit where people could go to when logged on to the computer. You see, this is a business computer and there are many users, so we can't stop everyone from using it completely, but I was hoping to eliminate the possiblity of someone getting into a program that I needed to secure. I would upgrade to XP, however, the system I am using is an older 600MHz AMD Duron on a TOPGUN Motherboard. Not too swift if you know what I mean. If anyone has any suggestions short of OS upgrade I would greatly appreciate it.

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WIN ME Password

    <hr>WIN ME does not allow for an administrator login to control access to programs/directories like XP<hr>
    Correct. The Win9x platform is inherently insecure.
    <hr>to limit where people could go to when logged on to the computer<hr>
    There are ways to do this, using add-ons, but again it will never be as secure. One such product is Folder Guard. I cannot vouch for any utility like this because I have never used them.

    Is upgrading to Windows 2000 out of the question? It offers all the security of Windows XP without the excessive hardware requirements. If security is your concern, getting away from the Win9x platform should be a priority.
    -Mark

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: WIN ME Password

    If you decide to take Mark's route and upgrade to Win2k make sure that there are Win2k drivers available for all the hardware on the ME machine. Win2k never had the broad hardware support like the 9X/ME line & as XP does.

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: WIN ME Password

    What is the problem of using a "600MHz" machine?
    I beta tested XP on a 450MHz and ran it up until last November, it worked quite well.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WIN ME Password

    True, with enough RAM it should be more than acceptable (so long as no one does video editing!).
    -Mark

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Pleasant Hill, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WIN ME Password

    Thanks for all the suggestions. I guess my concern with upgrading the OS is the fact that the system is set up the way that the employers like it, and I didn't want to have to go through the trouble (I know, that's the lazy way out) of saving ALL of the data, etc... and then reloading a new OS. I have done it many times on my own systems, but just wanted to see if there was a quicker, easier way. I do have a Win 2000 OS not being used anymore, so I guess I will give it a shot. I understand about the drivers and will have to upgrade the applicable hardware items if needed.

    Thanks again for all your help and may I say, "Keep up the good work in helping those in need!"

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WIN ME Password

    After a suitable backup, you could try simply upgrading the OS (as opposed to a clean install) to preserve settings. Not optimal, but if it works....
    -Mark

  11. #11
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Pleasant Hill, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WIN ME Password

    Mark,
    I took your suggestion and I was able to upgrade the system to WIN XP without too much of a problem; however, I seem to have lost USB connectivity. The mouse and printer are not working. I have tried uninstalling and reloading their drivers and software without any luck. If I need to move over to a new forum please let me know.

    Thanks

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: WIN ME Password

    Did you check the BIOS to make sure the USB didn't "accidently" get turned off during the upgrade process?

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WIN ME Password

    Further to Al's comments, I would also check to make sure that the proper USB drivers are installed. AMD systems typically require them to be installed separately (Intel based I don't know about) with Windows XP.
    -Mark

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •