Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Video display corrupt ?voltage problem

    I have a Petium 2.8 Ghz PC with an ASUS PC4800 deluxe motherboard. The utilities with the motherboard include a voltage monitor. For the last 2 months the 12V threshold voltage has been dipping to as low as 9.3 volts. During this same period the display becomes corrupted and sometimes the PC freezes. This was with an NVIDIA FX5600 card. I changed to a Radeon 9600XT card but the problem has remained. I have emailed ASUS twice in the last 6 weeks but no reply. I am suspecting either the power supply or motherboard as the problem. Does anyone else have any other suggestions before I try replacing them.

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Video display corrupt ?voltage problem

    Two things I would recommend you check:
    1. <LI>See if the video card has an additional power plug dangling from it somewhere. Newer cards suck up a lot of juice and recently manufacturers have started adding this additional molex plug to provide the extra power.
      <LI>Check the output wattage of your power supply and make sure it is capable of handling the demands of your system. If you have a full load, including multiple drives, fans and other components, the power supply may not be up to task.
    You may also consider having the power supply tested at a local shop. The motherboard should have an onboard voltage regulator to prevent wild fluctuations in the power delivery that is faulty, but it is more likely that the power supply is to blame. If the motherboard is under warranty then a replacement may be what you need, if you can have it cross-shipped.

    HTH,
    -Mark

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Video display corrupt ?voltage problem

    Thanks for reply. The PC worked fine for the first 4 months then voltage problems occurred. Power supply should be adequate - is Antec true power 380W. Will try another power supply first as that is cheapest option. Could voltage regulators on MB be problem. Thanks for suggestions.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Dallas plus 20 miles or so, Texas, USA
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Video display corrupt ?voltage problem

    Have to agree with Mark that it is most likely the power supply. You might be amazed at the power load a full running box will consume.

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Video display corrupt ?voltage problem

    Tony,
    Sounds like the PS to me also.
    You could try unplugging a few of the non critical units like CD reader or Sound card or the like, to see if there is a difference without their current draw.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Video display corrupt ?voltage problem

    Thanks - will certainly try the power supply first - this will be cheaper option as well.

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Video display corrupt ?voltage problem

    Yup - power supply - and you might want to invest in an UPS - much better than ANY - Repeat - ANY power strip at protecting your system from spikes and surges than power strips - and they also protect you from brown outs (low voltage situations) and, of course complete power outages. And the good part is that they have come down in price to that of a more expensive power strip.

    Note that every time a power strip takes a hit, it gets weaker.

    I plug my strips into my UPS.

    Note that if you have an LCD monitor, you can easily run your PC, Monitor, and all your network devices comfortably off a 500VA UPS which you can get for under $75 US.

    Go for a bigger one for multiple PCs or you want to run your CRT monitors - Note that in the case of a complete outage, all you need is about 5 minutes of run time to perform a "graceful" shutdown.
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!

    ─────────────────────

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Video display corrupt ?voltage problem

    Thanks - I already use a UPS. Doesn't seem to have saved the power supply though. Will be trying a new one tonight.

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Video display corrupt ?voltage problem

    Well, don't get turned off by Antec, they still make great PSs. I will add that the Tru Power series is a "quiet" type supply - if you have any case fan speeds controlled by the PS you might try using non-speed controlled connections.

    You can get a really inexpensive generic video card just to verify it is the card. I have PNY card that I use just for testing, troubleshooting and verification that I keep on hand - that way if the mobo or ps is wiping out cards, I won't destroy a good one.
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!

    ─────────────────────

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Video display corrupt ?voltage problem

    Tried new Abtec Tru power supply and its done the trick. 12V supply is now nice and clean with no dips. No more display or lock up problems. Thanks everyone for your replys, its saved me a bit of time and money.

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Video display corrupt ?voltage problem

    Excellent news! Glad it got fixed.
    -Mark

  12. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Video display corrupt ?voltage problem

    Great - glad you got it fixed and thanks for posting that you got it fixed - so many postings are left with no follow-ups - it is good to see what led to the resolutions.
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!

    ─────────────────────

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •