Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    298
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Logon Screen (XP/SP 1)

    Hi,

    A friend of mine has "lost" the original logon screen (where I had set him up three users) so he could simply click on a user, enter the password and away he (or his family) could go ... now all he has is the oh-so-familiar (to me) and not so user-friendly [Ctrl][Alt][Delete] logon prompt. Is there any way to get that original logon screen (the XP Welcome screen?) back?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    298
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Sorted!

    Found this on the net once I knew what to look for:

    Control Panel/Users/Change the Way Users Logon/Welcome Screen or...

    Start/Run/Regedit Key
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESOFTWAREMicrosoftWindows NT CurrentVersionWinlogon]
    Value Name: LogonType
    Data Type: REG_DWORD (DWORD Value)
    Value Data: (0 = Classic Mode, 1 = Welcome Screen)

    Create a new DWORD value, or modify the existing value, called 'LogonType' and edit the value according to the settings below. Reboot.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sorted!

    Any clue as to what changed it in the first place? - I had an idea it changed if you joined a network or domain...

    (Thanks for posting a solution, BTW!)

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    298
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sorted!

    Hi Leif,

    No it didn't join a domain but I did find netware client & protocol on it (how I don't know since he assures me I'm the only one to ever touch it and I never installed it when I built it) .. maybe that does something similar?

    No worries on me posting the solution, I always try to do so ... it seems the right thing to do to say thanks or explain how you did it as it may help others.

    Vamp

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sorted!

    Pardon me for butting in, but will you please tell me how to Create a new dword value? I've seen this so often, I think it's about time that I learned how to do it.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sorted!

    Have you edited the registry before?
    Do you have a particular need to create a DWORD?
    It is not something to be undertaken lightly and can be fatal for your computer if you are not exactly sure of what you are doing.

    This step-by-step article describes how to back up, edit, and restore the registry in Windows XP and Windows Server 2003. Microsoft recommends that before you edit the registry, you back up the registry and understand how to restore it if a problem occurs.

    HOW TO: Back Up, Edit, and Restore the Registry in Windows XP and Windows Server 2003

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sorted!

    Thank you Leif, I've seen the article previously. I need to know how because someone on this board told me what to do but not how to do it. I lost the message but I had made a note of what it said or I would have asked the poster. Perhaps I'll ask Google, they know how to do every thing.

    Thanks anyway.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Sorted!

    I think a DWORD is the C programming language term for an integer or a long integer (as you recall from school, integers are positive or negative whole numbers; no decimal places allowed). Unless the number is quite large, it should be no more complicated to add a DWORD value than to add a string of text. Of course, you'll want to consult a trusted source on what that value should be. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Arlington, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,394
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Sorted!

    Generally a "word" in programming terms represents the number of bits equal in size to one CPU register; the actual size depends on the computer in question. If the computer has a 16-bit CPU (like the original Intel machines), then a "word" is equal to 16 bits or 2 bytes. On a 64-bit system a "word" would be 8 bytes in size. Although Windows 95/NT & later are 32-bit operating systems, in Windows (C/C++) programming a "word" is still 16 bits, while a "double word" (or DWORD in "Hungarian" notation) is 32 bits in size (I assume this is to retain compatibility with 16-bit applications, etc). The Registry REG_DWORD datatype is equivalent to a DWORD, thus a 32-bit (4 byte) integer value. As far as editing Registry values is concerned, with DWORDs the main issue is to ensure you are entering the correct value for the selected base (Hexidecimal or Decimal) - in other words, don't enter a decimal value if Hex (the default) is selected in "Edit DWORD Value" dialog, and vice versa (see attached pic). Also Hex values should be entered without the leading "0x" that is displayed in Reg Editor (which displays DWORD values in Hex, with decimal equivalent in parentheses).

    On a trivia note, there is also a REG_QWORD data type, that as name implies represents a "quad word", or four 16-bit words (64 bit value). Unless you are using a 64-bit version of Windows & processor, you are not likely to encounter this data type in the Registry.

    HTH

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sorted!

    Gosh friend, that was some lesson, but it leaves me just as stupid as I was before I asked.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Sorted!

    Perhaps if you would re-state the question of prior time one of us could also advise you on "how" to do whatever it is. Trying to expand on Mark's example, I made a screenshot of a place in my registry where a DWORD (several) entry exists and pasted two overlays into it, showing the same screen Mark did, and also what you see if you right-click and choose "New." A DWORD in the registry is normally displayed in hex, but as you can see from both screenshots, you CAN enter the value in decimal. Please let us know what you need help with.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •