Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Patterson Lakes, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    637
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Folders somehow got protected (WinXP Pro & Home)

    The same folder on 3 different computers appears to be protected from file copying from other computers. The folders are all named
    Regards,
    Peter

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Folders somehow got protected (WinXP Pro & Hom

    Are you getting an error of any kind that might lead us in the proper direction?

    Just to clarify, you are trying to copy FROM a computer TO a target location, and this is the action that you cannot get to work? As I understand it, PC 1 is the destination, and in order to copy files successfully from PC 2 and/or PC 3, you must copy them first to a different location on PC 1, and then move them into the target folder on PC 1. Is this correct?

    Lastly, does this occur on ALL machines, or just one?
    -Mark

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Folders somehow got protected (WinXP Pro & Home)

    Can you rename the C:Access folder to something else, then rename the folder you *can* copy to ..Access and see if the 'permissions' are reversed?

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Patterson Lakes, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    637
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Folders somehow got protected (WinXP Pro & Hom

    Problem seems to have modified since last I tackled it. Now it is only Access DB (*.mdb) files I can
    Regards,
    Peter

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Folders somehow got protected (WinXP Pro & Hom

    My money says that they are still in use, and you are not aware of it. Try using Process Explorer to examine this and see if it is indeed the case.
    -Mark

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Patterson Lakes, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    637
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Folders somehow got protected (WinXP Pro & Hom

    Hey that is one neat little app. It will be really handy. Thanks
    I thought that your suggestion was unlikely as I totally kill the Db process in code when exiting. As I expected, Process Explorer didn
    Regards,
    Peter

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Folders somehow got protected (WinXP Pro & Hom

    OK - if renaming didn't make any difference, can you create a new folder - say "C:Bccess" - and try copying to it.
    If you can, what happens if you rename it to "C:Access"?

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Folders somehow got protected (WinXP Pro & Hom

    When you used Process Explorer, how did you search for related handles to the location you are trying to copy to?

    Another thought that occurred to me was to try this using a command prompt, and see if it gives the same error. If using the command prompt works, you could use a small BATch script to perform the copy, but I suspect it will still error out.
    -Mark

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Patterson Lakes, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    637
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Folders somehow got protected (WinXP Pro & Hom

    That worked like a charm. Problem fixed. So simple too.
    Thanks
    Regards,
    Peter

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Patterson Lakes, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    637
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Folders somehow got protected (WinXP Pro & Hom

    I followed Lief's suggestion above, of making a new directory. It worked.
    Thanks for your input
    Regards,
    Peter

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Folders somehow got protected (WinXP Pro & Hom

    Good to know!
    Just as a matter of interest, was the 'original' problem folder copied or moved from another pc, or was it created afresh? I'm just wondering if it brought any restrictions with it.

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Patterson Lakes, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    637
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Folders somehow got protected (WinXP Pro & Hom

    Both would have been copied from my main computer.
    Once agin thanks for your input.
    Regards,
    Peter

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,716
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Folders somehow got protected (WinXP Pro & Hom

    Mark,

    I have a question about Process Explorer. What does it mean and how is it done to "Configure Symbols?" I suppose that is the reason the bottom window pane shows nothing at this time.

    Thanks.
    H Lewton

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Folders somehow got protected (WinXP Pro & Hom

    Symbols are used to debug programs while in development. They allow for advanced troubleshooting of system crashes, among other things. In Process Explorer, you can tell the program where to find symbols you have downloaded for the operating system that you are working with. Often they are used by developers who are writing device drivers or other software that interacts directly with the operating system.

    In practice, most people will never need to touch them or even be aware that they exist. Using symbols requires a fairly intensive understanding of the inner workings of Windows and programming. Process Explorer is handy for basic troubleshooting, but can also be used for more advanced work along these lines, so that's why you see the empty pane. Also, in addition to being very dependent on the operating system version, the symbol packages are large (100+ MB) downloads so they are not included with the debugging tools.

    Clear as mud? <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> Hope that helps!
    -Mark

  15. #15
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,716
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Folders somehow got protected (WinXP Pro & Hom

    Mark,

    Thanks. I just decided to leave the lower pane blank. Haha!! Thanks again.
    H Lewton

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •