Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    877
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    HD full? (W2000)

    Hi,

    Sometimes when I'm using Word and after saving the document several (10 - 15) times, when I try to save for the n-th time Word will first try to save (to no avail), and then prompt me saying that there is no more HD space. It''ll offer to try to save with another name. It won't work. The funny thing is, I have 2 GB available in my main HD and another 1 GB in my backup HD <img src=/S/exclamation.gif border=0 alt=exclamation width=15 height=15>. I can't save to the latter either.
    So I might end up printing the document, shutting down Word without saving changes, reopening the document, then retyping the missing information.

    Anyone knows what's going on? <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29>
    <img src=/w3timages/blue3line.gif width=33% height=2>
    <img src=/S/flags/Argentina.gif border=0 alt=Argentina width=30 height=18> <big><font color=4682b4><font face="Comic Sans MS">Diegol</font face=comic></font color=4682b4> </big>

  2. #2
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Buenos Aires
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: HD full? (W2000)

    I've had things like this happen to me. It seems it has something to do with the quick save option from Word. My recommendation is that after a long while of editing, save, close and open the document. Of course, this is a solution like rebooting windows when things go wrong, but it works... Hope it helps...

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: HD full? (W2000)

    Hi Diegol:
    I would assume that you have fast saves (Tools/Options/FastSaves) turned off. If not, do so. This used to happen to me with Word 95 & it was because that version didn't remove hidden bookmarks when it updated a TOC. After awhile, you could have tens of thousands of hidden bookmarks. While 1-2 GB is small for a modern hard drive, it should certainly be more than enough to save documents. Have you run a scandisk & defrag? Also, delete all your old temp files (Step 1 in <post#=197827>post 197827</post#>).

    If you have the exact error message, it would help.

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: HD full? (W2000)

    (Edited by HansV to make URL clickable - see <!help=19>Help 19<!/help>)

    We have also seen this message and believe it is caused by a corrupt Normal. (We never use Fast Saves) Information about this can be found at the Knowledge Base document: http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?...kb;en-us;224031

    Because I couldn't save the document to either the network drive or the hard drive, I copied the contents of the document (but not the last paragraph mark) and closed Word. Got a new Normal and pasted the text in a fresh document window

    Diana

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    877
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: HD full? (W2000)

    Hi Baruguru,

    Yes, after a while I'll close the document for Word to clean up the zillion temp files it creates with each save. Eventually Word used to hang when there were too many temp files or when one undid changes way too many times, but it had never denied permission to save a document because of a reportedly full HD.

    Thanks
    <img src=/w3timages/blue3line.gif width=33% height=2>
    <img src=/S/flags/Argentina.gif border=0 alt=Argentina width=30 height=18> <big><font color=4682b4><font face="Comic Sans MS">Diegol</font face=comic></font color=4682b4> </big>

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    877
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: HD full? (W2000)

    Hi Phil,

    Fast Saves is the kind of feature I'll uncheck right after installing Office. I got to know its detestable nature thanks to the Lounge and will never ever let it take over again <img src=/S/nope.gif border=0 alt=nope width=15 height=15>.
    I formatted & reinstalled my PC about a month ago, so I don't think scanning/defragging has much to do with this...
    Finally, I keep my temp folder clean. At least once a week I'll take a minute to do the task.

    Thank you!
    <img src=/w3timages/blue3line.gif width=33% height=2>
    <img src=/S/flags/Argentina.gif border=0 alt=Argentina width=30 height=18> <big><font color=4682b4><font face="Comic Sans MS">Diegol</font face=comic></font color=4682b4> </big>

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    877
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: HD full? (W2000)

    Hi Diana,

    Thanks for your response. I've been messing around a little with toolbars & stuff lately, and I can't imagine how but maybe that spoiled the current Normal template. I wish I knew a way to "export" all my current toolbars & settings so I don't have to re-create them in the new Normal template...

    I'll give it a shot and let you know the outcome.

    Thanks! <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15>
    <img src=/w3timages/blue3line.gif width=33% height=2>
    <img src=/S/flags/Argentina.gif border=0 alt=Argentina width=30 height=18> <big><font color=4682b4><font face="Comic Sans MS">Diegol</font face=comic></font color=4682b4> </big>

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: HD full? (W2000)

    Hi Diegol:
    One thing you should definitely do is make periodic backups of normal.dot. I use a batch file & have up to 5 backups (2-3 is probably sufficient <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>). Whenever I make any change to normal.dot that I save, I make a new backup called normal.bk1, normal.bk2, etc. If normal.dot corrupts, you don't have to go back & start from scratch.
    Cheers,

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,852
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 259 Times in 239 Posts

    Re: HD full? (W2000)

    Phil

    I've always wondered what you must do to Normal to make it corrupt. I am always adding and fiddling code in Normal and have never had a corruption (touch wood).

    What is it that you do on a regular basis that makes yours a target?
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: HD full? (W2000)

    I have seen this caused by a bug in Equation Editor, but <!mskb=137918>Microsoft Knowledge Base Article 137918<!/mskb> suggests that a number of other applications can cause the same symptoms.

    StuartR

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: HD full? (W2000)

    Hi Andrew:
    I've never had a normal.dot that was corrupt (except at work where I got a macro virus years ago). I'm just overly cautious about keeping backups. But I do make deliberate changes that I regret <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> & it's easier to restore a backup than to undo the changes. But keep that piece of wood handy. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,852
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 259 Times in 239 Posts

    Re: HD full? (W2000)

    Well thats a relief - you must be even more paranoid than me. <img src=/S/bananas.gif border=0 alt=bananas width=33 height=35>
    <small>I do have an excuse though - I wouldn't be so paranoid if there wasn't so many people out to get me.</small>
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    877
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: HD full? (W2000)

    Hi Phil,

    Yes, it seems a healthy practice. The problem is most of the times I make changes to Normal.dot I don't even realize -- a button here, a menu there, etc. -- so I'm sure Normal will have changed before I realize, making it really hard to back up <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    <img src=/w3timages/blue3line.gif width=33% height=2>
    <img src=/S/flags/Argentina.gif border=0 alt=Argentina width=30 height=18> <big><font color=4682b4><font face="Comic Sans MS">Diegol</font face=comic></font color=4682b4> </big>

  14. #14
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    877
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: HD full? (W2000)

    I hadn't paid attention to the first alternative. Done. Thanks!
    <img src=/w3timages/blue3line.gif width=33% height=2>
    <img src=/S/flags/Argentina.gif border=0 alt=Argentina width=30 height=18> <big><font color=4682b4><font face="Comic Sans MS">Diegol</font face=comic></font color=4682b4> </big>

  15. #15
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    877
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: HD full? (W2000)

    Hi Dave,

    It seems you hit the bullseye! Indeed I was working with Equation Editor objects, but I didn't realize this would make a difference. I didn't connect it with the problem.

    If it happens again I'll try to trace the invalid object with the second method described in the KB article. Thank you!!!
    <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15>
    <img src=/w3timages/blue3line.gif width=33% height=2>
    <img src=/S/flags/Argentina.gif border=0 alt=Argentina width=30 height=18> <big><font color=4682b4><font face="Comic Sans MS">Diegol</font face=comic></font color=4682b4> </big>

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •