Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Quincy, Illinois
    Posts
    138
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Command Button Wizard (Access 2002)

    When adding a new command button in a form, the wizard doesn't pop up. When trying to do this on an alternate computer, it works ok. I imagine I have an option set wrong, but I can't find it. Does anyone know how I can get the wizard turned back on?

    Thanks,
    Drew

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Command Button Wizard (Access 2002)

    Is the "Control Wizards" button on the Toolbox "on" ("down")?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: png x.png (3.8 KB, 0 views)

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Quincy, Illinois
    Posts
    138
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Command Button Wizard (Access 2002)

    Thanks

    Another question if you don't mind.
    I'm doing a report where I have one table that iskeyed off of 'ID'. Another table that's keyed off of 'ID' and 'ITEM', and another table keyed off of 'ID' and 'DATE'. I make a query with these 3 tables.
    What I'm trying to accomplish is making a report (from the query) that list the 'ID', then all the ITEMS (multiple) under the ID and in addition have all NOTES under the ID. Is this possible?
    I hope I didn't confuse you with my terrible explaination. Let me know if I did.

    Thanks in advance for the help.
    Drew

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Command Button Wizard (Access 2002)

    I would create three reports, one based on each table (not on the query). Put the second and third report as subreports on the first report, linked to the first ("main") report by the ID field (in the Link Child Fields and Link Master Fields properties)

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Quincy, Illinois
    Posts
    138
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Command Button Wizard (Access 2002)

    I must be missing the Link Child and Link Master fields.
    I've set up 2 reports, both keying off the ID Field in 2 different tables (setup with the report wizard). After going into design mode on the "Main" report, and then clicking properties, I don't see the Link Child or Link Master fields anywhere. I've tried both the properties for the complete report and for the "ID Field". I'm fairly new on creating reports, so I may just be missing it.
    Am I doing something wrong?

    Thanks,
    Drew

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Command Button Wizard (Access 2002)

    Have you put the report for the "Items" as a subreport on the main report?

    If not, click the Subreport button on the Toolbox, and drag a small rectangle on the main report. If you have Control Wizards on, a wizard dialog will appear that will take care of the details. You can also drag the Items report from the database window onto the main report.

    If you already have placed the subreport on the main report, open the main report in design view and click once on the subreport. Don't click a second time, because you would select something in the subreport then. If you clicked twice by accident, click outside the subreport and try again.
    The caption of the Properties window should now display the name of the subreport as a control on the main report, and the Data tab of the Properties window should contain the Link Child Fields and Link Master Fields properties for the subreport.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •