Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: startup

  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    192
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    startup

    Hi
    I got a computer from ebay and when I turn it on it startup c:windows how do I make windows start?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: startup

    When you say "...it startup c:windows..." do you mean you have "C:windows" as a DOS prompt?

    What version of Windows does it have installed?
    Do you know if it actually has a version of Windows installed?

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    192
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: startup

    Yes the DOS prompt says c:windows. This is all I get when I turn it on so I don't know which windows it ran before I got it.

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: startup

    Try typing win after arriving at the DOS prompt and see if Windows starts.

    It has to be a Windows 95/98 system, because 2000, XP and ME do not have DOS as a startup option.
    -Mark

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: startup

    Or could it be [scarymusic] Windows 3.1 [/scarymusic] . . . . .

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: startup

    Same thing as DOS, I mean erm Windows 95/98, no? <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    -Mark

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: startup

    Try typing: "ver" ( without the quotes ) to see if it gives you a version number.



    Sounds like that 3.1 <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: startup

    Another suggestion would be to type C:dir at that DOS prompt to see a directory of what is on the c drive.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •