Platinum Lounger
    Thanks

naming slides (PPT97/SR2)

I'm confused. I can't see where an end-user (using only PPT) would assign a name to a slide.
    As a developer, I've found that i can assign a name using VBA.
    This strikes me as odd. I am more familar with Word, Excel, where the end-user can assign a name to a worksheet within a book.
    Have i missed something in the menu system?

<pre>Sub test2()
    Dim sld As Slide
    Dim strName As String
    For Each sld In ActivePresentation.Slides
    strName = "a" & strName
    sld.Name = strName ' comment this out after the first pass
    Next sld
    End Sub
    </pre>

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: naming slides (PPT97/SR2)

The tab name the user can set in Excel is comparable to the slide title in Excel. A worksheet in Excel also has a name that is hidden from the end user: the Properties window in the Visual Basic Editor shows a (Name) property that need not be equal to the Name property. The VBA equivalent of (Name) is CodeName.

<table border=1 cellpadding=5><tr><td>

Platinum Lounger
    Thanks

Hans, thanks for the quick response, but I have to confess that I'm still confused.

In Excel, the end-user can double-click on a worksheet tab, (or choose Format, Sheet, Rename), and change a name that happens to be visible at the foot of the end-user screen. The developer can choose View, Properties and see that the sheet now has a "(name)" that remains as "Sheet5", but has a "Name" that reads "RB Reconciliation".

So, In Excel the end-user can assign a name to a sheet, (which name could then be used via a GUI to communicate between the user and the program code).