Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    989
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Replacing within different Footers (2000)

    How can I replace all occurrences of 'January 2001 - Version 1' with 'April 2004 - Version 2' within the documents footers, when the document is split into 167 different Sections? I went into the Footer and tried Replacing from there, but it doesn't do anything. It says that it has finished searching the Footer, and do I want to start again from the beginning of the Footer?! Thanks, Andy.

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Replacing within different Footers (2000)

    Hi Andy:
    First of all, if the only place that information appears is your footer, then you can close the footer & just use Find & Replace. If you start at the beginning of the document, it will go through & make all the replacements. If you start anywhere else, you will get the prompt. If you answer "Yes" to the prompt, Word will continue to make all the replacements in the document.

    If your text is found elsewhere & you only wish to change the footer, then you must use the Find Next button & decide each time whether to replace or not. IF that is the problem, one of the VBA experts might be able to limit the replacement just to the header/footer story, but I can't help you with that.

    By the way, 167 sections seems like a lot. The more complex a document is, the more likely it will be to corrupt. Make sure you keep frequent backups. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    989
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Replacing within different Footers (2000)

    I initially ran Replace from the beginning of the document, outside of the Footer, but I'll try again when I get a chance.

    I didn't create this document originally. The whole document is in Landscape and each page is split into two columns.. so I assume the use of columns forced the addition of all the sections?! I tried manually amending the text in the first Footer and moving to the next and removing/ reapplying Same as Previous, but no joy. I should be able to achieve what I what without all this Replacing? Any further thoughts. Andy.

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Replacing within different Footers (2000)

    Sections are used when you need to change page attributes (e.g. File/Page Setup, columns, page borders & shading), but if the entire document is landscape, same margins, AND 2 columns, you probably wouldn't need all those sections.

    Note: IF your version # etc. is contained in a text box in the header/footer, then Find/Replace won't work, unless you actually select or click inside the text box. In that case, you'll have to convert the text boxes to frames first.

    Edited Later: I just re-read your previous message. If manually changing the text in Footer Section 1, & then linking Footer Section 2 back to it by clicking on Same as Previous doesn't work, something else is wrong. Could you try copying a portion of three consecutive sections into a new document, see if you get the same behavior, &, if so, attach the new file here (after removing anything confidential)?

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Replacing within different Footers (2000)

    When you find a solution to your problem, can I suggest that you replace the text with a Document Property field, rather than another fixed text string. Then it will be much easier to change next time.

    Create the property from File > Properties > Custom and add a new field called Revision with a value of 'April 2004 - Version 2'
    Insert the property with a field { DOCPROPERTY Revision }

    StuartR

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    989
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Replacing within different Footers (2000)

    I achieved this using the solution which was my first attempt - by going to the beginning of the document and Replacing. I had to replace each occurrence as Replace All wouldn't work. Replace All stopped after a couple of changes and I had to run it again. It was probably the sheer number of Section Breaks that caused it to fail, or maybe that some Sections had the Same As Previous option switched off?
    It's an excellent idea to use a field, so that a future revision can be corrected easily. However, I'm only revising this document as a one-off and leaving a field in place would cause confusion when someone comes to revise it in a year's time. Thanks for all assistance, Andy.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •