Lounger
    Thanks

Word vs Publisher

Hello
    As a project manager I have to publish project plans a lot. Each plan will include Visio graphics, Powerpoint slides, Excel spreadsheets, and MS Project charts. Sometimes even PDF files. Powerpoint presentations (rather than a single slide) and MS Project are the real problems. Neither will gracefully go into Word.

Typically I incorporate everything into Word except the Powerpoint presentations and MS Project charts and convert to PDF. Then convert the presentations and Project stuff I need to PDF. Then merge all the PDF files to get a single file.

Would MS Publisher allow me to import all the Word, Powerpoint, and Project stuff into it, resolve the pagination and header/footer problems, and then print?

Anybody's comments on Publisher would be appreciated.

dkobes

Re: Word vs Publisher

How do you import PDF forms or files into a Word document?

[img]/w3timages/icons/sick.gif[/img]

smac

I've done a lot of DTP, but only a little bit of Publisher

I'd be surprised if Publisher would handle long Project or PPoint documents better than Word. What it will do is handle layout better.

However, the task you describe sounds like the kind of thing the Office Binder is designed for -- I believe that Visio registers itself as a valid Binder document type, and MS Project certainly is.

I haven't used the Binder in anger, so you might want to post another query, particularly regarding repagination. Good luck.

Cheers,
    Sean

Lounger
    Thanks

I can't. I have to do it the other way around and merge everything in Adobe Exchange.

Lounger
    Thanks

Yeah, I have already thought of using Binder. It works 'okay' (in O97 it would hang frequently) but it doesn't recognize a PDF document and Binder quickly becomes a Huge file.

Although, on second thought, it would make most of the pagination formating easier. I would still have to print to PDF to merge the MS Project Reports into the final document.