Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Search by post number

    Search by post number is not working for me.
    yesterday i found an excellent search by one Pete Simpson, used it (thanks again, Pete!), printed it out and brought it home to effect a response away from the client site.

    This morning I click Search and enter the number (28155) from my printout - not found! I select VBA forum rather than All Forums and - not found.

    I search for "acrobat distiller library", find the post, post my reply. So the post is there.

    But searching by entering the post number (28155) appears not to work.

    Unless it's me, again?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search by post number

    Sounds like it may be you again as it worked for me! Are you sure you didn't have any date limitation set in the search?

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Search by post number

    Did you select "Message Number" in Search Options?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: png x.PNG (13.2 KB, 0 views)

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hornsby Heights, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    3,822
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search by post number

    Sounds like you missed a setting on the search page. However, seeing you know the post number, why not just enter it at the bottom of the screen in the box next to "view post number", that's why I added that feature a while ago <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    Cheers, Claude.

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Search by post number

    The "View post number" option does not appear to work with Mozilla, or at least not with Firefox. I can use it if browsing with IE but when using Firefox it allows me to put numbers or even letters into the box, but the "View post number" button always remains greyed-out as if nothing was entered into it.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Search by post number

    Loungers have reported problems with "View post number" in Mozilla before, see <post#=269046>post 269046</post#>.

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Search by post number

    It's a button I do not use but if ever I feel a pressing need to press the button I will view the page in IE. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search by post number

    > didn't have any date limitation set in the search?

    I'm not even clever enough to select "message number" (see below) let alone the fancy stuff (shameful grin!)

  9. #9
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search by post number

    > Did you select "Message Number" in Search Options?

    Ask not "Did you select", but "Did you know it was an option?".

    The answer to the second question will be "no".

    If the third question is "Once you selected the correct option, did it work?", then the answer would be yes.

    Thanks, Hans.

  10. #10
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search by post number

    > that's why I added that feature a while ago

    Thanks, Claude, and no, (see above), I didn't see this either.

    And while the button isn't grayed out, it does appear to be inoperative for me in Mozilla Firebird 0.7. I can try it in IE Monday morning.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •