Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    pasting data (2000)

    I am unable to paste a complete row of data, only 3 of the records are pasting in the column.
    Any ideas?
    see attachment.

    Justin.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: pasting data (2000)

    What are you pasting from?
    What are you pasting to?
    What is the relationship between the two pictures in your zip file?
    What do you mean by "complete row"?
    What is the error message you get?
    etc. etc. etc.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: pasting data (2000)

    Pasting from one database to another.
    Pasting from one table to another table in a different database.
    Sorry meant complete column.
    Don't get error message just cannot past all data in colums.

    Justin.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: pasting data (2000)

    Do the tables contain more columns than the one you display in the images you attached?
    Does the destination table already contain records before you try to paste into it?
    How are you trying to paste? By clicking on the column heading and then Edit | Paste, or by selecting the blank new record and then Edit | Paste, or yet another way?

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: pasting data (2000)

    Do the tables contain more columns than the one you display in the images you attached? No
    Does the destination table already contain records before you try to paste into it? Yes
    Tried removing columns but get an error.
    How are you trying to paste? By clicking on the column heading and then Edit | Paste, or by selecting the blank new record and then Edit | Paste, or yet another way?
    By clicking on column then Edit then Copy

    Justin

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: pasting data (2000)

    If the table already contains records, you cannot paste more records than there already are (plus one). Try pasting like this instead:
    - Scroll to the end of the table.
    - Click on the record selector in the new record at the end (see screenshot).
    - Then select Edit | Paste (or press Ctrl+V).
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: png x.PNG (1.5 KB, 0 views)

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: pasting data (2000)

    I tried this and deleted all records so l was pasting into a blank table but got this error.
    I understand error but cannot work out how to resolve it.
    Any ideas?


    Justin
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: pasting data (2000)

    That would occur if the source table has blank values. In general, it is not useful to have blank values in a table with only one column. One thing you can try is:
    - Sort the source table. All blank records will end up at the top.
    - Select everything except for the blank records at the top, then copy them.

    Alternatively, open the destination table in design view, and make sure that the Required property of the APNo field is set to No, and set the Allow Zero Length property to Yes. Also make sure that there is no Validation Rule on this field. You should then be able to paste all records into the field, even those with a blank value.

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: pasting data (2000)

    That works great thanks Hans.
    Any ideas as to why this does not occur in any previous tables.
    Also could you explain as to what the "Required property" and "Allow Zero Length" fields do so l now for future in case l get this problem again.

    Thanks
    Justin.

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: pasting data (2000)

    Perhaps you didn't have records with blank values when you tried this before.

    The Required property applies to every type of field. If it is set to Yes, the user MUST enter something in the field.
    The Allow Zero Length property applies only to text, memo, and hyperlink fields. If it is set to Yes, clearing the field will leave an empty string instead of a Null (missing) value. As you have found, this can be handy combined with Required = Yes.
    To learn more, click in the Required or Allow Zero Length property, and press F1.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •