Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    screen shots of log-in

    I'm attempting to take a screen shot of the "log-in" dialog box in Windows 2000, meaning the box you get after clicking "ctrl+alt+delete", where you enter your user name, password and domain. Does anyone know how to do this? I use "snag it" for most of my screen shot work, however can't seem to figure out how I might get this one, as it's prior to snag-it launching? Same for the print scrren button, it doesn't work YET!

    Any thoughts?

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: screen shots of log-in

    When I was editing a book and responsible for screen shots (not sure how the author got out of that one) we faked a lot of the setup screens by capturing similar ones after the OS loaded and touching them up.

    Alternate idea # 2 - not sure if it'll work though is to use VNC and capture it from another desktop.

    Ok, i just tested it. VNC will work but you need to disable the CAD screen before you log of and log back on. That's one key combination that won't work with it.

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: screen shots of log-in

    see <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.wopr.com/cgi-bin/w3t/showflat.pl?Cat=&Board=free&Number=16052&page=2&vi ew=expanded&sb=5>here</A> for more information

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Tallahassee, Florida, USA
    Posts
    901
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: screen shots of log-in

    This may be a silly question, but doesn't Alt+Print Screen and then pasting from clipboard work? <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15> I don't have an NT to test it, but it works on Win 98SE.
    Karen

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: screen shots of log-in

    Depending on how adventurous you are, you may wish to have a look at <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.bome.com/Restorator/>Restorator</A>. This, in theory, allows you to edit (and so, presumably, export) images within any file.

    As the website puts it:
    Restorator allows you to modify the user interface of any Windows 32-bit program and thus create UCA's. You can view, extract, and change images, icons, text, dialogs, sounds, videos, menus, and many more.
    Technically speaking, it lets you edit the resources in many file types, for example exe, dll, res, ocx (Active X), scr (Screen Saver) and others.

    Warning
    The file you would want to examine is ntoskrnl.exe. Apparently the program will overwrite without warning. Rumour has it that you can NOT alter ntoskrnl.exe (W2K) and expect it to run properly again.

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: screen shots of log-in

    at that point in time the clipboard may not be activated or can be cleared as windows finished loading. it's the same during setups, you can't access the OS enough to gewt and save the screenshots.

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Tallahassee, Florida, USA
    Posts
    901
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: screen shots of log-in

    Yep! At work now, tried it, no joy. Bummer.
    Karen

  8. #8
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: screen shots of log-in

    I've gone onto the VNC website and it does look like it might help, however I don't have a server on one of my machines (it indicates that one machine needs to be a server, and from the 2nd machine you would view the server.) Is there a simple way to get around this - like calling up one machine from the other over the network? Please forgive my naivity with setting up servers - it's not part of what I do... Any help is appreciated.

  9. #9
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: screen shots of log-in

    by server it means the host computer you want to view.

    install the "vnc server" software to the computer you need a screen shot from. on the other machine, you just need to run the viewer program, it doesn't need installed.

    walk over to the machine and hit the ctrl+alt+del keys, i forgot you don't need to log on remotely. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> if you are accessing it remotely, you'll need to disable the CAD screen for logins.

    you can connect to it over either a LAN or the internet - just be sure to end VNC when you are done, if you use the internet for access. it

  10. #10
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: screen shots of log-in

    cool program, but the 30 day trial ended on mine after one use <img src=/S/bummer.gif border=0 alt=bummer width=15 height=15>

    i didn't see the complete log on screen in that file, just the parts of it.

  11. #11
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: screen shots of log-in

    Thanks for your help, it's up and running - the problem I'm running into now however, is that when I log off the "server" machine, I lose the connection via VNC from the viewer, and hence can't get my screen shot of the log in dialog box. Any thoughts?

  12. #12
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: screen shots of log-in

    it needs to run as a service then you'll have access. one of the options on the menu after it installed is to run as service. it's a reg file that will install it for you.

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Tallahassee, Florida, USA
    Posts
    901
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: screen shots of log-in

    MaryJ: Another thought -- if this is a Win2K LAN, one of the workstations can be designated as a parent (if it isn't already). I know that panderson indicated that there isn't a server, so I presume it's peer-to-peer. In Win2K Pro (I think) is the SMS utility which would provide the remote access tools needed without purchase of a separate utility. <img src=/S/doh.gif border=0 alt=doh width=15 height=15>I wish I could tell you off the top of my head what SMS means (System Management Services?), and may only be part of Win2K Server which we use at work. We RA to the child workstations in a collection.

    Panderson: Maybe someone on the Win2K Board would have some more info. If not, if you can PM me with the info you need to be reflected at the login screen (such as domain name) I can provide a screenshot at work on Monday or can provide a blank one.

    Other than that, I'm fresh out of ideas. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    Karen

  14. #14
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: screen shots of log-in

    the good thing is that vnc is free <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    i think it's part of the resource kit but don't have a cd handy to check if it's on the windows cds or only on the RK cd.

  15. #15
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: screen shots of log-in

    Thanks for everyone's help and suggestions. After not having luck with VNC (launched the service helper, didn't seem to make a difference - I'm sure there was just something minor that I was overseeing) or Restorator (another suggestion), it doned on me that we have a utility on our load called "Timbuktu Pro", and that did the trick. It allowed me to stay connected during the logoff/logon process in order to get my screen shots. However the 2nd & 3rd times I tried it, it disconnected, so I'm glad I methodically took all important screen shots the first time around, because I don't seem to be able to repeat my steps??

    Thanks again for your suggestions.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •