Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    87
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Corrupt db (Access 97)

    We have a well used Access 97 database, front and backend. Last night the backend got corrupted. I found the table, found one corrupt record and cannot delete it. We cannot repair and compact (have not tried jetcomp.exe). As long as nobody tries to get into the corrupt table, the frontend works fine. Is there any hope for the backend? Opening it, repairing, compacting give the same error message:
    A missing index is referred to. The missing index is in the autonumber field in the corrupt table. I have the table fixed at this point, but cannot get it back into the backend. Importing tables into new db has failed.

    Any help/idea is most appreciated.

    deutsch

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Corrupt db (Access 97)

    Can you import the *rest* of the tables into a new database? Do you have XP? I managed to clean up something like this recently by using 2002 and converting the file format, then converting it back after fixing the balky table by doing a maketable query on just the rest of the fields in the bad table. Then I edited that table to include a memo field and did an append from all but the bad record, which was identified in the conversion errors table. I suspect you have a corrupt memo field, and you can search for threads on that problem here in the Lounge.
    Charlotte

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    87
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Corrupt db (Access 97)

    Thanks Charlotte. I cannot not import the other tables into a new database. The problem field is the autonumber, it had lost its index. I have fixed the corrupt table in the front end. However, I cannot get it back into the back end. I will search through the forum and see what I can find.
    Thanks for the help.

    deutsch

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Corrupt db (Access 97)

    Another thing you might try, assuming you can open the back-end (and it appears you can since you were able to get at the corrupt table), is to export each individual table to a new database. I've had that work when I couldn't import things, but could open the database.
    Wendell

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    87
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Corrupt db (Access 97)

    Interestingly, I cannot get to the backend. We see no objects when we try to import the tables from the backend. I used a maketable query to get the good records from the frontend. I used that table to add the index back in and it worked. But I cannot get the new clean table back into the backend - I named it something other the original table and was hoping to export it into the backend, then delete the bad table and rename the clean table. No go.
    We are now working with a 2 day old restored copy of the database backend, a poor but workable compromise. I will try again exporting or importing the tables from yesterday. It has not worked before.
    The corrupt table is interesting - I have never seen an autonumber index disappear before!

    Thanks for all your help and suggestions,

    deutsch

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Corrupt db (Access 97)

    That is a new one! I've never seen a back-end where I could see the tables in it from a linked database, but not get into it. Can you use a make-table query against the other linked tables?
    Wendell

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    87
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Corrupt db (Access 97)

    I have not either. First time for me.

    I have not tried to make table all the other tables and am trying not to - there are 50 tables in this database. I may have to if nothing else works.
    Thanks,
    deutsch

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •