Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    West Simsbury, Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Word/Access ask for Internet Access (Office 2003)

    Lately both Word and Access (as well as Outlook with which I use Word as my editor) are asking for internet access as soon as they open, according to ZoneAlarm. I can't find any area where this is controlled, and it didn't use to happen. Don't know what changed to cause it.

    Anyone have any ideas???

    Thanks...

    DHK

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word/Access ask for Internet Access (Office 20

    When the Office 2003 applications access Help, they automatically try to contact Microsoft as well as looking at the Help files on your hard drive. Maybe you have changed some kind of setting there?

    On the other hand, this may really be a ZoneAlarm issue; rather than an Office issue - depending on your views as to allowing each of these apps Internet access. HTH
    Gre

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    West Simsbury, Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word/Access ask for Internet Access (Office 2003)

    I'm aware of Help accessing the Internet, but this is happening when the program opens, *And Never Used To Do That!* I don't know of anything I've changed. Also, ZoneAlarm hasn't had any config changes either. IP Address it is looking for is my DNS...

    DHK

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word/Access ask for Internet Access (Office 20

    Are you saying that wen you bring up the Task Pane toolbar - Tools|Customise or by right-clicking on the top of any open toolbar - it is not defaulting to Help?

    Just a thought....
    Gre

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    West Simsbury, Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word/Access ask for Internet Access (Office 2003)

    I'm saying that as soon as I start the program it asks to access the internet, and it never used to. I don't follow your reference to Task/Pane...

    DHK

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word/Access ask for Internet Access (Office 2003)

    You might take a look at <post#=197827>post 197827</post#>. This deals with Word, but I suspect that you might have an Office add-in that is causing this. I would skip the first step there & check if there are any add-ins in the MS Office startup folder.
    Hope this helps,

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    West Simsbury, Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word/Access ask for Internet Access (Office 2003)

    Tried your suggestions and have found a .dot in startup for an address-zip code checker that I've installed. It never used to want Inet access at startup, only upon use. I've emailed the company (Dymo), but since it's freeware we'll have to see what reply they give... now to track down the Access startup similar problem...

    DHK

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •