New Lounger
    Thanks

(Re)designing database (XP)

I am relatively new to database development, so here is a table design question.

I am working with a non-profit's existing database which contains the following tables: Contacts, Contributions, Events. Included within the Contacts table are the following fields: HomeAddress, HomeCity, HomeState, HomeZip, BusinessAddress, BusinessCity, BusinessState, BusinessZip. There are also checkbox fields to indicate which address to use as the mailing address: MailHome, MailBusiness. Amongst other things, I had difficulty creating a query that would give me just a list of the mailing addresses.

Wouldn't the database work better if the address information was moved into its own table? I'm thinking it would be a one-to-many relationship between Contacts and Addresses, with a description field (Home, Business, Other) and with a checkbox field indicating the mailing address. Am I on the right track in design theory, or do I need to go back to basics? I'm just getting started identifying the problems with this database.

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: (Re)designing database (XP)

If you foresee that you may have to introduce other addresses than Home and Business in the future, a separate address table might be a good idea. Otherwise, I'd probably stick with the present setup. It may not be fully normalized, but it works well in most situations.

You can use a union query to get all the mailing addresses (the first field names are imaginary):

SELECT ContactID, LastName, FirstName, ..., HomeAddress As MailAddress, HomeCity As MailAddress, HomeState As MailState, HomeZip as MailZip
    FROM Contacts
    WHERE MailHome = True
    UNION
    SELECT ContactID, LastName, FirstName, ..., BusinessAddress, BusinessCity, BusinessState, BusinessZip
    FROM Contacts
    WHERE MailBusiness = True