4 Star Lounger
    Thanks

IMS Question/Test Interoperability Support (Any)

(Edited by HansV to make URL clickable - see <!help=19>Help 19<!/help>)

I am a college professor. While I do not have a lot of experience with Access, with the help of several people in this forum, I put together an Access database for storing exam questions. The nice thing about using Access for this is that it can then write out the questions in a format that I can import to Blackboard and WebCT (online teaching environments) and MicroTest (testbank program) for printing offline hardcopy exams. Having this ability means I can write exam questions once and use them in multiple environments as needed.

The problem I am now facing is a big one and one that I have no idea how to approach. I am hoping that someone in this forum has some experience in this area and might be able to help me or at least offer some guidance.

Specifically, the University System of Georgia where I work is
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Ronny Richardson

Lounger
    Thanks

Re: IMS Question/Test Interoperability Support (Any)

(Edited by HansV to make URL clickable - see <!help=19>Help 19<!/help>)

Hi Ronny; I don't know IMS (I'm guessing it's XML-based?), but I have a few general suggestions: I hope one of them proves helpful.

1. Have you contacted your local IT support and asked them to build you an Access db that can store and report the question data? It sounds like the work they do for you could also be shared with faculty throughout the system. If you came to our IT group with this kind of request, we'd find the time and people to help--I suspect your folks are equally dedicated. (Also, since there are special elists for support staff from universities, they may not have to do anything--just ask around for something someone else has already done ;-)