Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Page break on subreport (2002)

    I have a report which is a notice memo. The subreport is a list of names. (and other data). The sub report is of varying length, and can run up to three pages. I need for there to be a page break once it prints the last name, so the next "letter" begins at the top of the page. I found the page break icon and placed it on the subreport below the data fields. It seems to be behaving differently, but is still bleeding over onto the first page of the next report. All help greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Page break on subreport (2002)

    You will have to set up the page breaks in the main report, either using page break controls or using the Force New Page property of sections of the main report. Subreports don't handle page breaks.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Page break on subreport (2002)

    Well, that semi-worked. Now, rather than have the list (from the subreport) start on the same page as the letter, it starts on a second page. I like that better. This solves most of the problem. There are two lists that are still bleeding over to the first page of the next department. If I put the page break at the top of the report, I just get a blank page. Where do I find the Force new page property? I don't see that anywhere. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>

    Thanks so much for your help.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Page break on subreport (2002)

    Force New Page is a property of some sections of a report:
    - The report header and report footer sections.
    - Group header and group footer sections.
    - The detail section.
    The property is in the Format tab of the Properties window, and can be set to one of four values:
    - None
    - Before Section
    - After Section
    - Before and After
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: png x.PNG (8.8 KB, 0 views)

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Page break on subreport (2002)

    Oh this is so close. I put the Force new page in the Page header section of the main report. Now I am getting a blank page with just the report header before each new department. I can make this work. If there is some way to eliminate the blank pages, I would truly appreciate learning it.
    Thank you for your patience with a beginner. I am learning so much. <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15>

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Page break on subreport (2002)

    I don't understand. The page header and page footer sections are the only sections that *don't* have a Force New Page property, and a page break control has no effect if placed in the page header or footer section.

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Page break on subreport (2002)

    Well, your right (of course). The Force new Page is on the Report Header, and it says Before this section. So -- now I'm really confused <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>
    The nearly blank pages are printing with the Page Header. There is a page break in the detail section after the script. This forces the subreport to a new page. This looks like it should be so simple.

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Page break on subreport (2002)

    I know it can be confusing. In my experience, a page break control is only needed in special circumstances (you can make it visible/invisible in code.) For most reports, experimenting with the Force New Page property of various sections will eventually result in the desired behavior.

    If you don't succeed, you might post a stripped down version of the database. See <post#=371550>post 371550</post#> for instructions.

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Page break on subreport (2002)

    Thanks Hans. This just got bumped to tomorrows list since I am about to escape. <img src=/S/flee.gif border=0 alt=flee width=25 height=25>
    I'm sure I will be visiting with you tomorrow. I'll try to find something to occupy your mind. <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •