Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Offline Folders remembers old Server . . . (XP (all versions))

    We used to have a Win2K Server called 'workbel'. We enabled people to work offline, so their PCs used to synchronize with 'workbel'. Now, we've gotten a new Win2K3 Server, called 'newbel'. However, all the Clients still want to try to synchronize with 'workbel'. We have deleted all offline versions of the files that used to synchronize with 'workbel', but XP insists on trying to speak to the old Server. We've obviously set up Offilne files to work with the new Server, so each Client now attempts to synchronize with both Servers. Naturally, the new Server succeeds, but users are tortured with the message (every day) that they are working offline, not to mention the dialog hanging the shut down each nite b/c it states that the syncrhonization with 'workbel' didn't succeed. *sigh*. We have tried every Offline option to try to get the Server to stop trying to contact the old server, even adding it and choosing 'Never Allow workbel to go Offline'. However, nothing works.

    Does anyone know where this hidden setting in Windows is so that we can make XP forget that our old server ever existed?

    Thanks heaps in advance for any help.

    This is driving us all nuts. [img]/forums/images/smilies/sad.gif[/img]

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Offline Folders remembers old Server . . . (XP (all versions))

    Try using this Protected Storage PassView. It shows the cached credentials on the cleint machine. But be careful what you delete.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Offline Folders remembers old Server . . . (XP (all versions))

    Found in google groups if this helps: "Only way to reset is to reset Client Side Cache and hack registry to remove NETCACHE values."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •