Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Perth, W. Australia
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    mouse problem; reformatting/installing XP Home (XP Home V2002 SP1)

    I bought a second desktop computer (P4, 1.6GHZ, 37.2GB HD, 224RAM) at an auction last week and on booting up have found I am unable to get the mouse working (tried all 3 of the mouses I already have - didn't get one with the auctioned computer). The cursor appears, but won't move. I tried running setup from a floppy that came with one of the mouses, but it wouldn't work: MS DOS window came up with the name of the previous computer owner (a Westpac Bank employee - the computer was used by Westpac).

    The computer OS is Win XP Pro. I do not have the disk. I do have Win XP Home, which I got with my other computer, bought new.

    My questions are:

    1. How do I get the mouse working? Could there be some issue to do with however the computer has been configured at Westpac?

    2. Is it best all round if the computer HD is wiped clean and reformatted?

    3. If so, can I use my XP Home disk to reformat, or is there some serial number or whatever that tells Microsoft that I am using the same disk to install XP Home on two computers (I believe you're not supposed to do this...any way to get around it, or must I buy another WInXP Home CD?).

    4. Anyone recommend a link to a "how to" explanation of the best procedure to follow to reformat and install XP Home?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: mouse problem; reformatting/installing XP Home (XP Home V2002 SP1)

    1.) Can you contact anyone at Westpac? What kind of mouse - PS/2 or USB?
    2.) Yes. But you need the XP CD. You should have been able to get the XP CD with the PC (unless it is an volume license).
    3.) NO. Your XP Home is tied to the PC on which it was originally installed. Installation on more than one machine is prohibiited by the EULA.
    4.) If you must purchase another XP Home, you'll need to format the disk before starting the install as XP Home is not a valid upgrade for XP Pro.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Perth, W. Australia
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: mouse problem; reformatting/installing XP Home (XP Home V2002 SP1)

    Thanks for your response, Joe. In answer to your responses:

    1. No, Westpac had many items in the auction - no idea of which branch was associated with which items. Impossible to track this down now. I have tried both USB and PS/2 mouses. Neither work.
    2. Think Westpac was probably granted some sort of blanket license. No CD came with the computer.
    3. Hmm - so no way around this?
    4. Take your point. Was hoping not to have to fork out for another XP CD though.

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: mouse problem; reformatting/installing XP Home (XP Home V2002 SP1)

    Joe is correct in all of his responses.

    Westpac should NOT have sold the PC without the HD being wiped clean anyway.
    NO.3 NO there is no way around this. One PC, one OS.

    Spring for a copy of XP home and start from scratch. You will probably need the CD at other times also. ( besides the install )
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Perth, W. Australia
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: mouse problem; reformatting/installing XP Home (XP Home V2002 SP1)

    Thnks, viking

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: mouse problem; reformatting/installing XP Home

    One check to make before you start wiping-and-buying, is to look hard at the folders on the hard drive. Some installers put copies of the OS installation files somewhere on the drive, like in a folder called CABS. I don't know if folks are doing that with XP but it's worth a look-see. Technically, (I think) they shouldn't have even sold you the computer without either giving you the Windows CD, and any other software I might add, or wiping the drive clean. Note that I said "I think" because I don't claim to be top-notch on all the legal stuff.

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: mouse problem; reformatting/installing XP Home

    BigAl,
    If Westpac has a volume license they should've wiped the drive first. They would be in violation of their license. Otherwise, they should've (and legally could have) supplied a CD, a hidden partition or folders like you mentioned.

    Joe
    Joe

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: mouse problem; reformatting/installing XP Home

    Some OEM's put the OS in a hidden partition.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: mouse problem; reformatting/installing XP Home

    If you see the mouse cursor and it doesn't move, that means Windows didn't recognize the mouse during bootup. If you don't use KVM switch (many computers to one monitor-keyboard-mouse), either the mouse itself is broken or PS/2 port on the motherboard.

    Try to connect another PS/2, USB, or better, old serial mouse and reboot the computer. Is the mouse working?

    If not, logon to Windows, on your keyboard press WIndows and R keys simultaneously, type
    devmgmt.msc
    and hit Enter. Device Manager window appears. Hit Tab key, than Down Arrow key until you reach "Mice and other pointing devices".
    If you don't see such entry, that means the mouse doesn't connected (or the port is broken).
    If you see it, hit Right Arrow key. Do you see any devices? If so, hit Enter. What do you see in "Device Status" window?

    If you connect USB mouse and it also doesn't work, do you see "Universal Serial Bus controllers" entry?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •